Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I get a white strip on the bottom of the screen of a CRT monitor.
    It's about the size of the taskbar and appears just above the taskbar.
    It appears momentarily only while I'm on the net, and while switching
    windows on a site.

    Any signifigance regarding the state of the monitor? Is it dying?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Probably, but it may also be a bad connection to the video card, or the card itself. Best test is to use that monitor on another computer - though different video card and settings may prevent the problem occurring.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Probably, but it may also be a bad connection to the video card, or the card itself. Best test is to use that monitor on another computer - though different video card and settings may prevent the problem occurring.

    cheers, Paul
    Thanks, P T. Will give that a try and see what tranpires.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Probably, but it may also be a bad connection to the video card, or the card itself. Best test is to use that monitor on another computer - though different video card and settings may prevent the problem occurring.
    cheers, Paul
    Finally got around to it and the monitor works fine on another computer,
    so you were right about the card. Much thanks for the suggestion.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albox, Almeria, Spain
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You could try finding the latest driver for your graphics card. It may not be a fault at all - just a speed issue with the graphics card or that system in particular. It's a little difficult to be more precise without knowing about your system specs, age, etc.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have found that it's always quicker, and less expensive to check and update the drivers if necessary before spending my hard earned dollars on hardware that is fine, just needs some updating. Graphics card manf. are constantly updating their drivers to increase useability or capabilities of their products, especially as other hardware changes that affect their products. They seem to be ahead of the curve in this. I wish utility S/W manf. would do this. Then we would not have to continue to buy new versions of apps we use each year.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •