Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, I've tried every thing I know and can not figure this out.

    History is that I have a 4 computer Network here. At one time all were various versions of XP, 2 Pro, 1 Home, and 1 MCE. Never got that error in the Event Viewer.

    Took out an XP Pro system and replaced it with a Vista one. All network functions worked properly but this Event Error appeared. Never could figure it out and gave up. The Vista was 64 bit and the others were all 32 bit if that matters.

    Anyway, I upgraded to W7 and the problems continued.

    I did have other problems as well, such as the names used for this Vista/W7 computer didn't appear in a NET VIEW command. Finally chased that down to my Router, a LinkSys WRT350N with Storage Link. Moving that storage link to a different network name solved that problem, but not this one.

    This is the full error I get...

    -------------------
    The name "LARAINE-HP :0" could not be registered on the interface with IP address 192.168.1.102. The computer with the IP address 192.168.1.101 did not allow the name to be claimed by this computer.

    - System

    - Provider

    [ Name] NetBT

    - EventID 4321

    [ Qualifiers] 49152

    Level 2

    Task 0

    Keywords 0x80000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2009-12-17T01:10:55.062583300Z

    EventRecordID 259728

    Channel System

    Computer Irv-XPS435

    Security


    - EventData


    LARAINE-HP :0
    192.168.1.102
    192.168.1.101
    000000000400320000000000E11000C001010000010000C04A 000000000000000000000000000000


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Binary data:


    In Words

    0000: 00000000 00320004 00000000 C00010E1
    0008: 00000101 C0000001 0000004A 00000000
    0010: 00000000 00000000


    In Bytes

    0000: 00 00 00 00 04 00 32 00 ......2.
    0008: 00 00 00 00 E1 10 00 C0 ......
    0010: 01 01 00 00 01 00 00 C0 .......
    0018: 4A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 J.......
    0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    -----------------------------------

    Laraine-HP is the XP MCE system and the only one on now.

    NBTSTAT output :

    ------------------
    C:\>nbtstat -r

    NetBIOS Names Resolution and Registration Statistics
    ----------------------------------------------------

    Resolved By Broadcast = 41
    Resolved By Name Server = 0

    Registered By Broadcast = 6
    Registered By Name Server = 0

    NetBIOS Names Resolved By Broadcast
    ---------------------------------------------
    LARAINE-HP
    LINKSYSWRT350N <00>
    LINKSYSWRT350N
    LARAINE-HP
    LARAINE-HP
    LINKSYSWRT350N <00>
    LINKSYSWRT350N
    LARAINE-HP

    C:\>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.102] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    IRV-XPS435 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    HOME <00> GROUP Registered
    IRV-XPS435 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    HOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    HOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    -------------------------------------------------

    This machine is IRV-XPS435 and is the Master Browser.

    Anyone know how to stop this error? I get it every 10 minutes? I should also mention, to this same Laraine-HP I have problems moving files. I can move small ones, and I can execute files from it, and that computer can send any files or amount of files to my system, but if I send a large one or too many I get a not connected dialog box although the connection never drops. Firewalls and AV's have been turned off for this problem and the Master Browser and it doesn't help?

    Irv S.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I don't know why you are getting the error but my money is on a NetBIOS problem.
    I would remove NetBIOS from all PCs and just run IP. The router will register the names in DNS and you should be OK.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I tried this and it seems to be working?

    But NOW for the weird part...

    After I made the change to both computers I looked up in my Event Viewer to see if it stopped. Although it had, it also stopped 'auto-magically' at 9PM two days ago (12/17/2009 9:01:27 PM)? Huh???

    My wife did shut her computer off before mine and probably at that time. The next morning I know mine was on before hers. I just checked Windows Update History... it seems I installed Windows defender update KB915597 before 8AM on the 18th, well before she turned on her system.

    Did the 'update' fix something? I searched the web on the KB update. It seems many people had internet or BSOD problems with it? I wonder?

    Well, it seems I'll have to turn NetBios back on? Explorer doesn't see the other computer, but NETWORK icon doesn't see it either, however going to the SHARING CENTER and FULL MAP but clicking on the other computer doesn't show it? Enabling NetBios puts access back under Explorer to the other computer. No Event Viewer error, yet... ????

    Odd to say the least? I've had this problem for MONTHS and to have it go away unexplained, dumbfounded?

    Irv S.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I don't have NetBIOS on my workgroup computers and can happily browse the other computers in Explorer. Seems like you have a more fundamental problem.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I give up, they errors are back again? Gone for over a day and now back?

    It could be that with W7 or my router I need NetBIOS? Maybe if I re-booted both computers it would have worked? I didn't do that yesterday?

    Irv S.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Routers do not need NetBIOS, nor does W7. It's a legacy protocol and can be safely removed.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I cannot fully understand your network configuration from your previous posts.

    • What computers do you have on your network? Hostname, IP Address, Operating system, Workgroup name.
    • What other devices do you have on the network? Hostname, IP Address and Device type.
    • Do you use fixed IP addresses or do you have a DHCP server?
    • What DNS server are your computers configured to use?
    • What network protocols are you running? Hopefully just TCP/IP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •