Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chillicothe, Missouri
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using XP pro, SP3 with every update available.
    One day the Scanner and Camera Wizard stopped seeing the digital camera when I connected the camera to the computer.
    I am using a Sony Mavica MVC-FD200 and it did at one time connect the right way.

    Where do I start trouble shooting this issue? When I connect the camera nothing happens, I have to go to My Computer to
    find the drive listed, then open the files etc.

    At one time the Wizard would open and ask what I wanted to do.... Now the app tells me "the computer cannot detect a scanner or camera"

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Have you tried this? Turn off the computer, attached the camera USB > plug in the scanner power and switch it on. Then turn on your computer.

    If that doesn't help, have you tried refreshing your USB ports? The following comes from this site http://tinyurl.com/3oxh2r

    1. Right-click My Computer icon on the desktop, and then select Properties.
    2. Click the Hardware tab.
    3. Click the Device Manager button.
    4. Click the plus (+) sign to the left of Universal Serial Bus controllers.
    5. Right-click the device listed under Universal Serial Bus controller and select Uninstall.
    6. Click OK to confirm the removal of the device.

    Please note, repeat Steps 5 and 6 until all the devices under Universal Serial Bus Controller are removed.

    7. Shut down the computer.

    CAUTION: Ensure that the Shut Down option is selected, instead of the Restart option.

    8. Wait for 5 seconds and then restart the computer. When the computer restarts, a "Windows has detected new or added hardware" message window will open.

    The above steps will refresh the USB ports.

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    You can also check the settings within the camera itself.
    There should be something in the cameras menu options that says
    something like "USB Mode" or "Connection Mode" or maybe even
    "Data Link Mode". Within that menu there may be the following options:
    1) Data - which is what you want it to be set to.
    2) Print - if you were to date proof and print photos
    3) Web - to use the camera as a web cam

    It is possible that if the camera was off for a long time, had low battery power, or was without batteries for a while, that the setting are reset to the factory default.

    Hope this helps.
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have experienced this problem when Windows turns off power to USB ports not in use.
    Try rebooting with the camera connected and on.
    To prevent in the future go into Device Manager, right click on the USB Hub entries looking for the Power Management tab.
    Uncheck the box 'Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power'

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Plug the camera into another computer to see if it's the camera or computer.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chillicothe, Missouri
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It is the computer. I can plug the Sony into the Laptop and the Wizard does it's thing and opens to
    transfer the images ....

    I tried the uninstall of all the usb drivers and then did a reboot. XP went through and reinstalled all the drivers for
    the various usb settings/roots/etc. It even "saw" the Sony camera and installed "drivers" for it. Still no joy, if I
    plug in the camera to the usb port and then turn it on, the camera reports via the screen USB MODE, but the wizard
    still; tells me that there is no camera or scanner connected or installed on this computer....

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Do you have Sony software installed? Try un-installing.
    Do you have a software firewall that has decided the camera is bad?

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chillicothe, Missouri
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I followed the instructions that have been posted here. and Success! Took a couple of tries and a few re-boots but
    now the camera and Scanner and Camera Wizard talk to each other.
    Thanks all for the help. Well, I guess I did. Just one day after a reboot it started seeing the camera and transferring the pictures.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •