Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    This is strange.

    I installed an A2003 database for a client that uses A2007. On one particular subform (single-form view), if I click on a combobox and then click another control, the combobox background becomes transparent. Even stranger, where the combobox dropdown overlaps a portion of another control, it makes that portion of background of the other control transparent! Although to only 1 of the 2 controls it overlaps.

    At first I thought it was just them, but I'm able to recreate it on my system when I use A2007. I do have code in place to change the background color of a control upon Enter and Exit, but I've used this for years; and the problem still persists even after removing it. I even opened the subform as a stand-alone form and the problem persists. Apparently this is merely some sort of display problem, because from the Immediate Window I checked the values of BackColor and BackStyle for the combobox, and they report what they should be (not what is seen on the screen). I can't make this happen on another form.

    The only commonality I can figure out is that it seems to happen to a combobox if focus leaves it and moves to another combobox. I did make it happen on another form (intermittently) by copying that combobox over from the affected form. I also converted the database to A2007 format and it still happens!

    Has anyone seen this?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkLiquorman View Post
    This is strange.

    Has anyone seen this?
    They have now.
    Interesting


    It even does it IF you convert the database to an accdb

    BUT only if it started as an mdb.

    Must be a day for highlighting Access BUGS.

    Andrew

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    SOLUTION I THINK.

    You have to set this in Access 2007.

    On the Set the
    Alternate Back Color Property of the Detail Band to any colour other than NO Colour.

    It appears to cure the problem.
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    SOLUTION I THINK.

    You have to set this in Access 2007.

    On the Set the
    Alternate Back Color Property of the Detail Band to any colour other than NO Colour.

    It appears to cure the problem.
    Thanks! That did it. I never would have found it.

    However, you do have to set the Alternate color to something else other than the primary Back Color.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    You can make them just 1 apart such as


    #EFD3D2 and #EFD3D1 bit a pain though

    Tough to see the difference (but I do need glasses).

    Typical Microsoft They give in one hand and take away with the other.
    Andrew

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    You can make them just 1 apart such as


    #EFD3D2 and #EFD3D1 bit a pain though

    Tough to see the difference (but I do need glasses).

    Typical Microsoft They give in one hand and take away with the other.
    As the Alternate Back Color is apparently only used to differentiate rows in a continuous form, it really doesn't matter for my use, since I'm using a single-form subform. I made it something totally different, but it doesn't show.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    You can make them just 1 apart such as


    #EFD3D2 and #EFD3D1 bit a pain though
    You don't need to make the two values different at all. You can use the same value for the background color and the alternate.
    Regards
    John



  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Hutchison View Post
    You don't need to make the two values different at all. You can use the same value for the background color and the alternate.
    Not true, at least for the problem I had.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I agree.
    Although you can make them the same colour.
    If the database is an mdb or was converted from an mdb, then the behavior occurs.

    But if you make the numbers just 1 different it doesn't.
    Maybe there is another way to turn it off, but I couldn't find it.

    To be honest, this does not happen an a database built as an accdb, so it is thus a bug.
    Also, you wonder why it effects forms that are not continous or datasheet view.
    Columnar forms ought to be exempt from this.
    Andrew

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I beg your pardon.
    I encountered this bug over a year ago, and found out about this solution.
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    Set the Alternate Back Color Property of the Detail Band to any colour other than NO Colour.
    Since then I have routinely set the two background colours to be the same. But I see now that they do indeed need to be different colours to avoid this bug.
    Regards
    John



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •