Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    ASKER, Norway
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have changed to Windows Vista and then use Word 2007

    None of my templates (.dot files) made in Windows XP will work in Vista.

    What can I do to make them work?

    Thanks
    \bjoeng

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    In what sense don't they work?
    - Word can't find them.
    - Word displays an error message when you try to use them.
    - ...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    ASKER, Norway
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    In what sense don't they work?
    - Word can't find them.
    - Word displays an error message when you try to use them.
    - ...
    Well, I just dobbelklicked a template and it just opened as Document1. No macros worked, no error message.

    I am uncertain where to place the templates (dot-files). The Menu-structure is extremely different from how it was under XP. So I haven't found where to place them yet.
    May be that is my problem.


    OK
    I have to dig into the Help files to find my way through. Then I have to use some time find out how Word should be set up to handle macros/templates.


    Anyway, Thanks Hans

    \bjoeng

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The default location for user templates is C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates under Windows XP, and C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Temp lates under Windows Vista (and presumably Windows 7). Application Data/AppData is a hidden folder, so you need to display hidden files and folders in order to see it.

    You can view and change the path of the user templates folder as follows in Word 2007:
    - Click the Microsoft Office Button.
    - Click Word Options.
    - Click Advanced.
    - Under General, click File Locations.
    - Click User templates.
    - If you want to change it, click Modify.

    You have to add this location to your trusted locations, otherwise macros will be disabled. See Create, remove, or change a trusted location for your files.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bjoeng View Post
    Well, I just dobbelklicked a template and it just opened as Document1.
    ...
    This seems to prove that it IS working as a template. If it was a normal document then it would have opened with the file name of the template file. Because this is a template, Word created a new Document1 based on the template.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    ASKER, Norway
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    The default location for user templates is C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates under Windows XP, and C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Temp lates under Windows Vista (and presumably Windows 7). Application Data/AppData is a hidden folder, so you need to display hidden files and folders in order to see it.

    You can view and change the path of the user templates folder as follows in Word 2007:
    - Click the Microsoft Office Button.
    - Click Word Options.
    - Click Advanced.
    - Under General, click File Locations.
    - Click User templates.
    - If you want to change it, click Modify.

    You have to add this location to your trusted locations, otherwise macros will be disabled. See Create, remove, or change a trusted location for your files.
    Thanks a lot, I will look into this and copy my templates to the apprpriate places.

    PS
    Congratulations with the new site, it looks very good.

    I have retired by now and will not be as bussy as I was some years ago. Though it is very good to have such a place to be able to solve problems.

    \bjoeng

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •