Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St. Catharines ON Canada
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just recently responded to an offer to update Firefox (I don't remember the versions) and the process eliminated Google and substituted
    a search engine called Ask. I clicked on the command line "Get started", and appear to have downloaded the program. But then when I opened
    Firefox again and clicked on "ask" it opened the download window again.
    How can I get Google back?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ask.com is not installed by Mozilla but can be added with some 3rd party Firefox add-ons or other programs.

    Is this for searching from the location bar?
    If it is try this:
    Type about:config into the location/address bar and press enter
    A warning dialog pops up, confirm this by selecting I'll be careful, I promise
    In the filter box type keyword
    This will bring up some settings containing keyword, right-click on the one called keyword.URL and select Reset

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Hello - Have you tried this .... Click the very small down arrow to the left in your search box. You should have Google as a choice. Just click Google.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St. Catharines ON Canada
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now I have the googls toolbar restored. But I have a firefox toolbar that appeared somehow, and I don't need that, but I can't find a way toe delete it.
    there also seems to have appeared one for this web site, which I don't need, as I have a bookmark for it.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by asteven1 View Post
    Now I have the googls toolbar restored. But I have a firefox toolbar that appeared somehow, and I don't need that, but I can't find a way toe delete it.
    there also seems to have appeared one for this web site, which I don't need, as I have a bookmark for it.
    As far as I can tell, The Lounge doesn't create any "toolbars." Can you please provide some type of screenshot of what you're seeing?

    Did you follow Tony's directions?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Are they "toolbars" or icon tabs? If icon tabs, try a right click and choose Delete.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •