Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When starting Windows Explorer or Firefox, two or even three instances get opened at the same time;

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Milos Simovic View Post
    When starting Windows Explorer or Firefox, two or even three instances get opened at the same time;
    Hi Milos

    How about your Mouse? Sounds silly but I have a dodgy mouse and it often inadvertently double clicks.
    Jerry

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jerry,

    I don't think it is a mouse as it works fine elsewhere.
    One thing though .... it is connected through a USB 4-port extender. I haven't tried hookig it directly to see if it matters

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It looks like you have a few other problems with you PC at the moment, without going into your tmp file issue here (we don't want to cross post) did this problem start at about the same time?
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    both explorers, plus Firefox; I don't think it is about single or double-clicking the mouse - regardless, it shouldn't open three instances at once.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Republic of Tejas,USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have you tried to adjust your mouse click speed via start>settings/control panel/mouse/buttons tab/double click speed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •