Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When we Install Windows 7 or Vista Upgrade it must be installed over another copy XP or vista. After installation completes we are left with two
    copies of windows, old wondows and new windows. Will it affect the copy of the new installation if we delete the copy of old windows.

    Thanks,Ray

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No. The files in "old windows" are simply there for your reference - in case some data that you will be needing in "new windows" has not been migrated.

    There is no disadvantage to the baseline running of "new windows" in deleting "old windows".
    Gre

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You may want to open the windows.old folder and grab all your stuff you will find there. Simply drag it to where ever is appropriate in your new OS, then delete the folder because it consumes huge amounts of HDD space.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •