Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Updating Hardware database

    How does one prevent Windows Me from "Updating hardware information database" when new hardware has been added?
    It takes 30-45 minutes to update this information. This happens only on one desktop, the two laptops that we have, running Me, do not go into the mode. There is no selection, the Udating pane just starts up.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Updating Hardware database

    It shouldn't take anything like that long to do. It will always happen when loading the drivers for new hardware after reboot, but should take a few seconds

    Not sure why it should take so long, but my PC has started taking a ridiculously long time to install things of late. It took me nearly an hour to install IE sp2. Do you have the automatic Windoze Update feature enabled on the desktop? Maybe we both have a dodgy MS 'fix'.

    If this is happening on every boot, then I guess you have a problem with whatever it is you most recently installed.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Updating Hardware database

    This is happening ONLY when we attach a new piece of hardware. Last week we added a new HP 1220 printer (parallel), had to wait for the update, then the other day we were trying to add a HP CD Writer 8200 USB, and had to wait again.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Slow installation times

    The update needs to happen to install the new hardware, so that is perfectly normal. The time taken isn't though. I have had a similar problem, but don't know the cause. I installed IE 5.5 SP2 with everything except explorer and systray closed down and it still took forever. Similarly, it took about 30 minutes to install new network settings for latest AOL7 beta on Me (but not Win2k on same machine).
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Me go-slow

    Just installed service pack on Win2k for comparison. Took about 2 minutes, so I guess that the problem is Me. Do you have automatic updates enabled? I had a problem installing one of these, which may be the source of the problem.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    It appears that Windows ME generates lots of "empty", i.e. 0kB, oemxxxx.inf files, at one stage I had several thousand of these on my machine. Deleting all the "empty" oemxxxx.inf files restored things to normal.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    I found just under 25 000 of these <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>! There must be an easy way of deleting them all <img src=/S/headthrob.gif border=0 alt=headthrob width=15 height=15>??!!
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    Sparky, what are oem files? And where does one look for them?

  9. #9
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Me go-slow

    Use File Find, Name=oem*.inf, Advanced/Size at most 0KB. Then Ctrl-A Select All, and Delete.

    Update:
    1)File Find is limited to a maximum of 10000 files.
    2)At most 0KB does not work. Will have to use at most 1KB and then sort descending by size. Scroll down to the first 0KB file, select it then type "Shift+End". This will select all files to the end of the list.
    3)Now delete the files.

    Repeat the above until all 0KB oem*.inf files are deleted. With approx 25000 files this should take 3 passes.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    Thanks, we will be cleaning it up.

    While in Explorer and in the right folder sort files by "Size" and select the "0" size and delete.

    We found 28,888 oem???.inf on the wife's machine.


    Go to "DOS" and go to this folder and type in "Del oem*.inf", this will take a LONG time to delete these files but it will work.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> I did the search for oem*.inf:
    OEM_SET.INF=2.25KB (archive)
    OEMCPL.INF=2.39KB(archive)
    oem0.inf=22.4KB (archive)
    oemcpl.inf=2.39KB (archive)
    What do I do now? I am still in the 'search' section.
    <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    I'd leave those ones alone. I found 24 319 files with a size of 0kb, which are the ones to get rid of. Whatever other problems you are having with Me, you seem to have avoided these.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    I thought win2k (happened to be booted into that, when I saw your post)would melt down when I selected all the files to delete at once. It took about 20 minutes just to get to asking me to confirm deletion! <img src=/S/doze.gif border=0 alt=doze width=15 height=15>

    Since deleting them, I upgraded to DirectX 8 as a test. Installed quickly and without trouble, so the fix seems to have worked. Thank you <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>!
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/groovin.gif border=0 alt=groovin width=21 height=21> Thank you, Sparky...at least I don't have all the oem.inf files you all seem to have...could it be cuz I don't have that much in my computer? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Me go-slow

    It's amazing how much better a Windoze PC works, the less you actually use it! Do you suppose someone should tell them what computers are actually for?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •