Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: win7 problem

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have an HP laptop (pavillion dv4) which came with Vista Home Premium pre-installed. I installed win 7 ultimate on another partition and the system boots into vista as well as win 7; however, the vista partition is not shown in explorer when I boot to win 7. Both partitions have ntfs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Kavi Rama Murthy

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Have a look in disk management to see if the Vista partition has a drive letter assigned.
    You can start disk management by right Clicking "Computer" and selecting manage, then choose disk management in the left pane, or clicking the start button, and typing diskmgmt.msc <enter>

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't remember how, but there is a way to hide drives in Win7. Search for info on that if Stuart's tip doesn't get you home.

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Feury View Post
    I don't remember how, but there is a way to hide drives in Win7.

    I think that's only if the drive is empty. Its an option in the advanced folder options menu list.

  6. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This may not be wholly relevant, but I recently installed Vista Business onto a HD which already had Win7 Ultimate.

    Both OSes saw themselves as the C:\ drive - with the other as the D:\ drive.
    Grüße

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm wagner View Post
    Both OSes saw themselves as the C:\ drive - with the other as the D:\ drive.
    This is perfectly normal depending whether you installed the second operating system from within Windows or by booting from the operating system DVD/CD.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •