Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tabernacle, NJ, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Does anyone know of a good hard drive diagnostic tool?
    I have a 200g Western Digital, which seems to be working ok, until I make a system back up.
    When making a back up, I get disk error reports. My Belarc Advisor shows my hard drive as healthy.
    Any input would be appreciated. leoinnj

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by leoinnj View Post
    Does anyone know of a good hard drive diagnostic tool?
    I have a 200g Western Digital, which seems to be working ok, until I make a system back up.
    When making a back up, I get disk error reports. My Belarc Advisor shows my hard drive as healthy.
    Any input would be appreciated. leoinnj
    It seems to me that the first place you should go is Western Digital's web pages. THEY have diagnostic software for all their drives but you have to look for the SPECIFIC model you're using.

    You need to tell us more about this backup you're attempting to do, like with what software and specifically what is/are the errors you see?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Whitmer View Post
    An excellent product - but $89... The OP could almost buy a replacement disk for that price!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    An excellent product - but $89... The OP could almost buy a replacement disk for that price!
    Not only price, but reliability! That's why I always suggest the diagnostic software of the drive manufacturer. I had ONE personal bad experience with SpinRite several years ago and have read an occasional report of others having similar problems. I have since been leery of using the software again.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigaldoc View Post
    I had ONE personal bad experience with SpinRite several years ago and have read an occasional report of others having similar problems. I have since been leery of using the software again.
    I think it would be fair to say that people running Spinrite are likely to be using it as a last resort, in a desperate attempt to recover something from a seriously-ill disk. In that circumstance, it is quite possible that it cannot work miracles...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigaldoc View Post
    Not only price, but reliability! That's why I always suggest the diagnostic software of the drive manufacturer. I had ONE personal bad experience with SpinRite several years ago and have read an occasional report of others having similar problems. I have since been leery of using the software again.
    I always view this type of question from the perspective of, "What's the data worth?" That's where I was coming from with my reply.

    I'm a storage admin/data manager, so I'm biased. I couldn't care less about the price of the hardware; it's the value of the data that's always first in my mind. If the data is backed up (and verified) in two or three places, then sure - get a new HDD and be done with it.

    As far as SpinRite giving problems - well - never here. Of course, your experiences are your experiences. If it failed you, I believe you. Still, I run it all the time. It's let me rescue vast amounts of data from drives that Windows wouldn't even mount.

    YMMV, of course.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by John Whitmer View Post
    I always view this type of question from the perspective of, "What's the data worth?" That's where I was coming from with my reply.
    Of course you're right, John! It is unfair of me to "detour around" SpinRite after "only" one encounter with the product. My main concern from the OP was to get more detail about this backup he's evidently having trouble with - software name, error description, etc.

    Since he said the drive "seems to be" working OK, I would've thought first to check the manufacturer's tools.

    Anyway, this post is an attempt to soften my comment about GRC's erstwhile product.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigaldoc View Post
    Of course you're right, John! It is unfair of me to "detour around" SpinRite after "only" one encounter with the product. My main concern from the OP was to get more detail about this backup he's evidently having trouble with - software name, error description, etc.

    Since he said the drive "seems to be" working OK, I would've thought first to check the manufacturer's tools.

    Anyway, this post is an attempt to soften my comment about GRC's erstwhile product.
    Understood. I noticed a lack of information to begin with, so I assumed. (There's that word again.)

    Yeah, as long as the data is backed up and verified, running the OEM's diagnostic tools would be a good first step. I'd low-level format the thing to be sure, of course. (Again, assuming that the OP has multiple verified backups.)

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Western Digital has an app (free) designed for thier drives.
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tabernacle, NJ, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was using Acronis back up.
    Since I posted, I have fixed the issue, I ran WinXP check disk, and it replaced the bad sectors.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,186
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Modern hard disks should never show bad sectors, they are remapped internally and never shown to the OS. If you are seeing bad sectors your disk may be about to die and your backup will be tested.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •