Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just curious on how I can restore my " safe to power off pc" screen when I log off for the night? I am running XP-Pro SP3.
    I THINK it started after doing an update to my Nvidia Gforce 6200 video card during this past summer.
    A few times I have powererd down to soon and had to run chkdsk afterwards. So now I wait awhile prior to powering down.
    So any help on how I can get that screen to come back up would be appreciated.

    Thank you

    Joe Sica

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Your PC should power itself off - the days of "safe to power off" messages are long gone.
    Is it a very old computer?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It is about a 6 yr old Intel MB and SCSI system built around it. I PURPOSELY didnt let it be seen as an APCI ( if I got that spelling right) in device manager.
    Just a STANDARD PC ( something I read as far as preventing shut down problems, HA the irony).
    It has worked just fine all this time till this past summer when that screen no longer appears.

    So I am open for suggestions on how to restore that screen.

    Thanks much

    Joe Sica

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Take a look here for some suggestions.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you, had already seen and read that on a Google search of my problem but to no avail

    BUT thank you for taking the time to reply!!

    Joe Sica

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I'm assuming that you tried both Shutdown I and Shutdown II suggestions with no joy. Did you run down the links related to HAL issues ??

    From your description of your, seemingly, somewhat unorthadox setup, it may have something to do with the HAL settings. There is also a link for Win 2000 HAL settings that is supposed to work with XP as well.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One of the reasons I didn't try what was recommended via the HAL suggestion is :
    "WARNING: Note that you should not attempt to change from an ACPI HAL to a standard HAL or from a standard HAL to a ACPI HAL under any circumstances. Doing so will result in your computer not starting properly or at all. This occurs because the Plug and Play device tree that would be currently loaded is for ACPI, and it does not get reconstructed or revert to a standard HAL Plug and Play device tree. Because of this (the device tree structures being drastically different), the system is unaware of any hardware changes after the computer restarts to include the location of the boot device. Microsoft does not recommend or support this procedure as it will result in data loss. "

    KINDA makes one a tad gun shy

    I assume the pic file for "safe to power off your PC" is either missing or corrupt. In 98 I knew where the file was, not in XP. I have no problem with my PC not powering off automatically. I would just like that screen back and not take a chance of REALLY messing it up via the HAL suggestions.
    BUT again thank you for keeping the suggestions coming and taking the time to do so.

    Joe Sica

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    FWIW I agree that tinkering with the HAL is on the dangerous side.
    Gre

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Sica View Post
    It is about a 6 yr old Intel MB and SCSI system built around it. I PURPOSELY didnt let it be seen as an APCI ( if I got that spelling right) in device manager.
    Just a STANDARD PC ( something I read as far as preventing shut down problems, HA the irony).
    Based on this statement, I incorrectly assumed that you were familiar and comfortable with this sort of "tweak". But if you do not fully understand HAL, by all means, leave it alone.

    If changing the Power Management setting doesn't resolve this and the machine will not power down on it's own then you may just have to live with the change.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I guess when I am feeling brave I can always make an image of my C: drive first and then play with the 2001 guy ( HAL)
    Wait it didn't end well for HAL now did it in that movie.. My God I may start singing in slow motion!!!!!!! Daisy Daisy...................

    And yes I am very comfortable with those kind of tweeks ( built my first PC in 89 so have been building and tweaking a long time) HOWEVER when you see a warning such as that from Microsoft, it's like a nurse telling this is going to hurt ( blood gas for one) one tends to believe them!!

    Thanks again for all of your help

    Joe Sica

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •