Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have XP SP3. Use Symantec v 10.1.6.6000 AV.
    Every time, upon a cold boot-up, I get a Windows Security Notice telling me that my system is at risk due to not having an AV program running. This notice is in the form of a pop-up balloon in my tray. Eventually, after about a minute, the notice goes away and my system is shown as "protected". Wondering what causes this to happen? It's more of a nuisance than anything.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    I have XP SP3. Use Symantec v 10.1.6.6000 AV.
    Every time, upon a cold boot-up, I get a Windows Security Notice telling me that my system is at risk due to not having an AV program running. This notice is in the form of a pop-up balloon in my tray. Eventually, after about a minute, the notice goes away and my system is shown as "protected". Wondering what causes this to happen? It's more of a nuisance than anything.
    Try going to Control Panel>Security Center>click on "change the way Security Center alerts me," UNcheck Virus protection box.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,412
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    I have XP SP3. Use Symantec v 10.1.6.6000 AV.
    Every time, upon a cold boot-up, I get a Windows Security Notice telling me that my system is at risk due to not having an AV program running. This notice is in the form of a pop-up balloon in my tray. Eventually, after about a minute, the notice goes away and my system is shown as "protected". Wondering what causes this to happen? It's more of a nuisance than anything.
    The XP Security Center is getting initialized and checking for a running A/V before Symantec is fully initialized and communicating with XP. As long as your software and A/V definitions are up-to-date I wouldn't worry about it.

    If you want Symantec to load faster you'll have to trim what else is started when you boot the system. You can use a tool such as the free Autoruns for Windows.

    Note: Autoruns presents a lot of information most of which you'll not need. you can use the Logon tab to see what programs are started and disable those which you really don't need. If you are not sure about which to disable post a screenshot of the your Logon tab and someone here will be glad to advise you.

    Joe

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    How long have you been using Norton ?? Did this behavior coincide with an update from either MS or Symantec ?? It sounds like Norton is not fully loaded when your desktop/System Tray comes up and thus the warning.

    Oppps.... took a phone call during the post and Bob and Joe beat me to it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #5
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by viking33 View Post
    Try going to Control Panel>Security Center>click on "change the way Security Center alerts me," UNcheck Virus protection box.
    Thanks Viking. That did the trick.

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,412
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    Thanks Viking. That did the trick.
    NOTE: It did not resolve the issue. The only thing that did was hide the message. If your Symantec software ever has an issue with updates the Security Center will not notify you.

    Joe

  8. #7
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    NOTE: It did not resolve the issue. The only thing that did was hide the message. If your Symantec software ever has an issue with updates the Security Center will not notify you.

    Joe
    You're right Joe. Putting a bandaid on it isn't the way to go. Get to the root of the problem is what I always say. Your suggestion was appreciated too!

    Actually, before going with Viking's suggestion, I visited the Autoruns link you sent. I usually keep my startup programs pretty lean. I'll forward a screenshot as you suggested. Maybe something will stick out to you.

    Thanks again!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,412
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    Actually, before going with Viking's suggestion, I visited the Autoruns link you sent. I usually keep my startup programs pretty lean. I'll forward a screenshot as you suggested. Maybe something will stick out to you.
    You do keep the startup items lean. There is nothing that jumps out. The only thing I can think of would be an update that is causing the Symantec piece to not initialize as quickly as it had it the past.

    Joe

  10. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    As Joe said, nothing there jumps out.

    I recall noticing this behavior on my kids system when they had Norton installed. I attributed it then to a slow PC and internet connection and the Symantec software calling home on startup. Is there an option in the software not to automatically check for updates on startup??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    NOTE: It did not resolve the issue. The only thing that did was hide the message. If your Symantec software ever has an issue with updates the Security Center will not notify you.

    Joe
    As the OP said "It's more of a nuisance than anything."
    Sounded like he just wanted to get rid of the message ( nuisance ) That's what it did.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •