Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In Win 7, I want to re-locate My Documents, but the properties dialog doesn't show the 'Location' tab. I am running as an administrator.
    Any ideas anyone?
    Regards,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Does the discussion in Changing path of Library folder help?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,623
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 627 Times in 560 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kinross View Post
    In Win 7, I want to re-locate My Documents, but the properties dialog doesn't show the 'Location' tab. I am running as an administrator.
    Any ideas anyone?
    The only time I don't see the Location tab is if I look at an account that is different than that under which I logged on. Try looking at it under the Documents Library.

    Joe

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Stuart. Nope I had already seen that post. The actual 'Location' tab is missing from my My Documents properties dialog box.
    Regards,
    Peter

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Joe.
    There is only one user and only one account on this computer - me.
    Under the documents library properties there is only one tab called 'Library', so that doesn't help.
    Regards,
    Peter

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,623
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 627 Times in 560 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kinross View Post
    There is only one user and only one account on this computer - me.
    Under the documents library properties there is only one tab called 'Library', so that doesn't help.
    Sorry for the confustion. I meant look at the "My Documents" folder and its properties under the Documents Library. That one is for the logged on account.

    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Joe. Unfortunately there is no 'My Documents' folder under 'Documents' in the 'Library' folder. And no 'My Documents' folder anywhere in the 'Library' folder.
    Regards,
    Peter

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    "My Documents" was the name of a Windows XP folder. Windows 7 uses a different approach.

    If you have a folder called "My Documents" then you can add this to your documents library, and you can make it the default save location. Will that achieve what you are trying to do?

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,623
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 627 Times in 560 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kinross View Post
    Thanks Joe. Unfortunately there is no 'My Documents' folder under 'Documents' in the 'Library' folder. And no 'My Documents' folder anywhere in the 'Library' folder.
    Have you actually expanded the Documents Library in the tree pane on the left? Can you post a screenshot?

    Joe

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    764
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kinross View Post
    In Win 7, I want to re-locate My Documents, but the properties dialog doesn't show the 'Location' tab. I am running as an administrator.
    Any ideas anyone?
    Click the start button.
    Click on your account name (should be at the top of the right hand column of the start menu).
    You should then be able to find 'My Documents' in the resulting display.
    Select its properties>location tab to change location.

    [attachment=87426:Capture.PNG]
    Regards,
    PaulB

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Within Libraries I have Documents/Library. If I then right-click on Documents/Library and left-click on Properties, I get Documents Properties which allows certain choices, including Restore Defaults. You might try taking that route (which requires no display of My Documents) to see if resetting the default helps. (I suggest making a restore point first.)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,623
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 627 Times in 560 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kinross View Post
    Thanks Joe. Unfortunately there is no 'My Documents' folder under 'Documents' in the 'Library' folder. And no 'My Documents' folder anywhere in the 'Library' folder.
    Here's couple of screenshots on my system at work. [attachment=87435:Capture.PNG][attachment=87436:Capture1.PNG]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I believe the Library folders are not the actual folders, but pointers to the real folder. The Library folders provide a convienent, easy to find place to add or create pointers to your folders all over your PC. As such there will be no changing location of the Library Folders. You can however change the locations of the destination "real" folders that the Library points to.

    Am I right on this???
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •