Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I am attempting to restore my Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit to a slightly earlier condition, before another problem began relating to an Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 install presently posted in another forum. A couple of weeks ago I purchased a WD Essentials 2, 1 TB external HDD. Because of the file size limitations in FAT32 I reformated the ext hdd to NTFS as WD suggested (originally formated as FAT 32). I used the Windows 7 Backup utility to store a back up image of my system to the HDD, which completed successfully. I also created a System repair disk using the Windows 7 Back up utility. I am not sure if the Ext HDD was actually attached to the PC when the Repair Disk was created. First, does it need to be attached when I create the Repair Disk??? Second, why won't the sytem find the HDD Image when I attempt to use the System Repair Disk to restore the image. Any help would be appreciated.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No I don't believe having the HDD plugged in during creation of repair disk is necessary.
    Have you tried booting to your Win 7 original disk instead of repair disk?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Also why are you restoring from a recovery disk?

    If your win 7 is working ok then you should be restoring an image from the recovery control panel which is the method recommended by win 7


    If your computer is still working and you can access Control Panel, or if you want to restore your system image backup onto a different computer, follow these steps:

    Click to open Recovery. (control panel applet)

    Click Advanced recovery methods.

    Click Use a system image you created earlier to recover your computer, and then follow the steps.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Yes the PC is still working, and I tried both ways to get the ext. HDD seen. I used the system repair disk first as I did not think of the second option. When I tried going through the control panel Backup and Restore option, it does the same thing. it does not see the external hdd. I looked at the OS drivers through device manage for my ext. hdd and tried to load drivers for the ext. hdd from those files during the restore without success.

    Basically I am attempting to make the backup work in case catastrophy strikes. Everyone says it's best to test your backup before you need it. At this point my back up image does not work.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Ted:

    You say your system is working but doesn't recognize your external hard drive. Is the drive a USB drive? If so, it may well be your USB cable that is toasted. If you can find another cable, give it a try and see if it is recognized then.
    Gus P

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It is a USB Ext HDD, but..... The system does see the HDD during normal use, but when I do the Restore function, when restarting and booting to the restore function, at this time the HDD is not seen. I am attempting to confirm that my restore function works in the event I loose my system for whatever reason. When I try to confirm it works, either using the System Repair Disk or through the windows Backup/Restore control panel, the ext hdd is not seen. I suspect the drivers may not be loaded, but according to WD this Ext HDD uses the basic windows drivers and does not need any further drivers to operate. Somehow, the windows drivers that should load to allow my Ext HDD to be used are not loaded during the Restore process.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have not ever been happy with any of Microsoft's "Backup" or "System Imaging". I use a third party on (True Image) and I would suggest that you do to. They are well worth the money spent.

    Also what is the make and model of this external drive?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    WD My Book Essentials 2, model WDH1U10000PN


    I do not think this is related to the backup software, but to the fact that for some reason the drivers are not in place when trying to test the restore function. That's why the HDD is not seen during this process.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If you boot to the safe mode is it seen?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Yes it is. I can see it access it, etc. It just isn't there using the restore function. This is why I think it may be a driver issue. I have also posted this same question on the WD site tech help forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Historically IMHO, some backup/restore software has been hampered by the built-in drivers not working well with different chipsets on the external side. Transferring the drive into an external case with a different chipset (or switching to Firewire) may lead to a successful restore. If the backup needed is a standard type, changing the backup/restore software may also work on the existing hardware.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    David,

    Sorry it took so long to respond to your original entry. I just tried to boot from the Win 7 DVD, with the same results. The Ext. HDD is not seen, I believe no drives were loaded by windows. I am waiting to hear from WD on this problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Well, WD finally got back to me and tells me the Ext. HDD I bought is not Windows 7 compatible because they have decided not to issue drivers for it so I guess I will be looking for another drive. Does anyone have a recommendation for an External HDD about 1 TB that is Windows 7 compatible. I will return the WD I have and buy something else. Thanks.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    ..... Does anyone have a recommendation for an External HDD about 1 TB that is Windows 7 compatible. I will return the WD I have and buy something else. Thanks.
    I recommend you start a new thread in the Hardware Forum on this topic.
    Gre

  15. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I recommend backing up to an internal drive they are more reliable than externals are.
    Not to mention faster...and you don't need a driver.

    C
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •