Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chester County PA.
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,
    This is my first time posting here and I hope someone can help me. My problem is that when I try to access my desktop from my laptop I get the error message
    ď Computerroom is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.
    Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computerĒ
    I can access my laptop from my desktop without any trouble.
    Iím not sure what changed or when. Iíve never had this problem before. Everything use to work fine.
    My laptop is wireless and the desktop is wired.
    Thanks for any help.
    Chuck

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    What method are you using to connect to the desktop?
    Are you using a different user to connect to the desktop?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck McCall View Post
    This is my first time posting here and I hope someone can help me. My problem is that when I try to access my desktop from my laptop I get the error message
    " Computerroom is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.
    Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer"
    I can access my laptop from my desktop without any trouble.
    Welcome to the Lounge!!

    When this happens it usually is a problem with security software. Please work your way through Troubleshooting file shares on a home network.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chester County PA.
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks I'll try that.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chester County PA.
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,
    I'm not sure what you mean "What method are you using to connect to the desktop?"
    Yes the user name is different for the desk top.
    thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    You have NOT stated what the OS's are on each of these machines and what protection programs are running on each?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chester County PA.
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Window's 7 Home on the desktop. Window's Vista Ultimate on the laptop. Both machines use ESET smart securtiy. This problem started back when the desktop had Vista Ultimate on it as well. Everything was fine then one day i couldn't access the desktop. The problem carried over to windows 7. The part I don't get is that when install Window 7, it was a clean install.
    thanks

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Both Vista and Windows 7 likes to have the Same User name and password on all machines, are yours set up this way?
    One does NOT have to be logged in using the same names all machines, just have the accounts there.
    An update to your ESET may be blocking the access, so you need to check that out on all machines.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chester County PA.
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'll try changing all name and password to the same. Thanks for the help.
    Chuck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •