Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    The free popular antimalware program has been updated. See Malwarebytes.org for the download link and changes.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks, just updated

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    Thanks, just updated
    Me too thank you very much

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    One thing that disappointed me with Malewarebytes was that after installing and getting working properly, I received an update that updated the program as well as the definitions, and turned Malewarebytes on in the background. Since I have chosen to run a different anti-malware program, I wanted to turn Malewarebytes off from running. I could not find where it set itself to start when windows starts. It was not in the usual place in the registry and was not in the start up folder. I resorted to msconfig and start up to shut it off. There should be an easier way to stop a program from running in the back ground. Not everyone wishes to run every program in the background. This would use up all available CPU cycles and RAM quickly.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    One thing that disappointed me with Malewarebytes was that after installing and getting working properly, I received an update that updated the program as well as the definitions, and turned Malewarebytes on in the background.
    The Free version or the Full (purchased) version?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    One thing that disappointed me with Malewarebytes was that after installing and getting working properly, I received an update that updated the program as well as the definitions, and turned Malewarebytes on in the background. Since I have chosen to run a different anti-malware program, I wanted to turn Malewarebytes off from running. I could not find where it set itself to start when windows starts. It was not in the usual place in the registry and was not in the start up folder. I resorted to msconfig and start up to shut it off. There should be an easier way to stop a program from running in the back ground. Not everyone wishes to run every program in the background. This would use up all available CPU cycles and RAM quickly.
    There is an easier way. I use WinPatrol 2010 by BillP Studios and have Malwarebytes disabled so I can run it manually whenever I choose. Check it out. It inspects start-up processes, browser toolbars/cookies, background programs. You can set it to check for new or altered programs and files periodically. It is free but there is also an option upgrade to the PLUS. I've used the free version for 3 years now and haven't been disappointed one bit.
    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    There should be an easier way to stop a program from running in the back ground. Not everyone wishes to run every program in the background. This would use up all available CPU cycles and RAM quickly.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx AUTORUNS
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The free version of Maleware bytes
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    The free version of Maleware bytes
    Hmmmm . . . . I use the free version as well and I've never experienced that. The MBAM site states that "Activating the full version unlocks realtime protection, scheduled scanning, and scheduled updating." I'm not sure why MBAM would turn on in the background if there is no realtime protection in the free version.[attachment=87465:MBAM.PNG]

    Attached Images Attached Images
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Hmmmm . . . . I use the free version as well and I've never experienced that. The MBAM site states that "Activating the full version unlocks realtime protection, scheduled scanning, and scheduled updating." I'm not sure why MBAM would turn on in the background if there is no realtime protection in the free version.[attachment=87465:MBAM.PNG]

    I've never had Malwarebytes run realtime protection. I offered that I use WinPatrol to disable programs you don't wish running when your PC starts. From what I read and understand the realtime protection only comes with the paid version as you so aptly displayed above.

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I don't know what to tell you. I never paid for Malware Bytes, and even now mbam.exe is listed in the startup tab of msconfig. I have to do a selective start up and uncheck Malware Bytes to prevent the program from running in the background.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Have you by chance installed a short time "Trial" version of the Pro version?

    I have had several clients do this and I had to uninstall the trial version and reload the FREE version.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    Have you by chance installed a short time "Trial" version of the Pro version?
    I have had several clients do this and I had to uninstall the trial version and reload the FREE version.
    I would have said that was the best explanation. Not surprisingly, all software companies are anxious for you to try their paid-for products, and then pay for them! Look at the rubbish that PC manufacturers get paid to put on newly-built PCs, and the unwanted toolbars that accompany many free products (Adobe Reader and Piriform, for example)...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have used MalWare Bytes for a couple of years and have never downloaded a trial version of it. Neither have I ever paid for it. And yet there it is in msconfig. Somehow, during a normal definitions update my program was updated to a version that runs in the background. Not sure how. Very perplexing. They may have a glitch in their update system that intermittently effects Windows 7 users.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    JV16 has a utility called Startup Manager which will let you prevent programs from loading at startup. I'm sure there are a hundred other ways of doing the same thing, but I just happened to use that recently.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •