Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    My daughter works for a non-profit organization that has some old servers they would like to give away or dispose of but they want to clean off the hard drives before releasing them. I volunteered to try to do the cleanup. I've been a computer programmer and user for many years but I don't really know anything about servers!

The first server is a Dell PowerEdge 2600 running Windows Server 2003. It will boot up to the login screen OK but I don't know the login ID or password. It has a floppy drive (A and I have an old boot disk so I tried that and it does boot up on the floppy but I couldn't get it to recognize any drive letters other than A: and B: and B: appears to also be removable disc drive if it exists at all. This old boot disk contains a System Analyser utility and it tells me that there is a NTFS hard drive.

I had hoped to be able to create a boot floppy with a disk wiping program on it and use that to wipe the disk. I don't currently have any way to create a floppy (!) on my modern laptop but I'll look for a way if it is somewhat likely to be successful.

If I do create a boot floppy with the desired program on it do you think I will be able to access the hard drive and write to it under these conditions?

Any suggestions on how to proceed will be greatly appreciated.

Bill

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BillWilson View Post
    If I do create a boot floppy with the desired program on it do you think I will be able to access the hard drive and write to it under these conditions?

Any suggestions on how to proceed will be greatly appreciated.
    If you have an install CD from any version of Windows you could start an install and format the drive.

Joe
    Joe

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks