Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: XP Mode

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using Windows 7 Ultimate and downloaded and installed XP Mode and the Virtual PC from the Microsoft site. Worked great at the start, then simply stopped responding. It is important to me to use this option due to a program I have that I cannot install directly in 7. Tried to re-install Windows and XP Mode again from scratch and even that did not fix the problem. I finally simpy downgraded to another program I can use. Has anyone any ideas on what might be a solution to this apparent fault in XP Mode and Virtual PC?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If you have a XP disc you can use VirtualBox of VMWare Player and get a really good version of XP virtual going in 7. Since you started from scratch and still couldn't get XP Mode to work, a direct solution is not apparent to me at least. Make sure the system date and time is more or less correct. VirtualBox and VMPlayer are componentized as far as non-virtual interface configuration goes and I don't know if XP mode is similar or not but if it is, selectively disabling those interfaces can often point to the problem.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did you check to see if your PC can run XP mode. Check here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree with Ted Myers. The processor may not support XP mode. You have to have a processor that support Virtual Technology.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Atacama states in the second sentence that it worked great at first ... from that, we should be able to deduce that the PC does (or did) support XP Mode (and that the CPU does/did support VT).

    @ Atacama, did you change any settings in software (outside of XP Mode between the successful run and subsequent runs? Or in BIOS before the reinstall of Windows?

    If you named the program and version that you are trying to run, perhaps someone with a working XP Mode could test it.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    York, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    I don't know if this is relevant, or even necessary, but I did the Windows update inside the virtual XP machine. It took some time as there were a ton of updates that installed. I haven't had an issue with virtual XP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •