Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear All,
    I manage to install Win7 Ultimate but discover a strange behavior for the DVD+/-RW drive--- The Eject button on the drive will not work when there is a disc inside the drive (not even the emergency eject hole). The only way to eject the tray is through software control. Is there a way to turn off this drive-locking mechanism? Is it a new "feature" of Win7?

    (P.S. The hardware eject button works perfectly when running Windows XP Pro SP3)
    Maverick Tse

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It sounds like a driver issue. Go to the DVD manufacturer's web site and see if they have drivers for Win7, or if not for Vista, since the vista drivers may work as well. My DVD's all worked, but I had a printer which had great functionality under win XP and lost much of that functionality under Vista, then Win 7. HP did not produce new drivers for the printer for the new OS. If new drivers are not available you may be forced to either usa as is or upgrade the DVD.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You may also want to try and uninstall your CD/DVD rom from device manager, boot, and then let it detect and
    reinstall the driver. It's possible that something whent awry upon os install. Check for a firmware upgrade while your at it
    too if appropriate.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    It sounds like a driver issue. Go to the DVD manufacturer's web site and see if they have drivers for Win7, or if not for Vista, since the vista drivers may work as well.
    Printers need driver, fine. But who will need special driver for standard IDE/ATAPI/SATA devices after the DOS era?
    I know that there are software that provide such tray-locking function in Windows XP and many Linux distributions also implement such feature(cannot eject prior unmount). I just wish to know if anybody else also observe similar eject button behaviour and see if there is a way to change it.

    (FYI: my DVD drive is LiteOn iHAS324)
    Maverick Tse

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick Tse View Post
    Is it a new "feature" of Win7?
    I suspect it may be a 'feature' of whatever burning software you are using. I remember reading somewhere something about 'packet writing' - i.e. if the software knows there is writeable media in the drive, it won't let you manually eject the disc as it has been 'opened' for data writing (to some extent or other).

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Leif,
    I have not install ANY software yet. Just a plain vanilla Win7.
    It is unlikely to be related to packet writing because I discover this behaviour when installing drivers...i.e. a CD-ROM (not CD-R/RW) in the drive
    Maverick Tse

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick Tse View Post
    Leif,
    I have not install ANY software yet. Just a plain vanilla Win7.
    It is unlikely to be related to packet writing because I discover this behaviour when installing drivers...i.e. a CD-ROM (not CD-R/RW) in the drive
    Well, if nothing else, you are not alone, e.g. HELP DVD drive will not eject after intalling windows 7 - Windows 7 Forums - despite your protestations to the contrary, there are some people out there who believe drivers may be important...

    Otherwise, a couple of things to try:
    How To Assign Hotkeys To Eject/Insert CD Tray In Windows
    and
    Create a Shortcut to Eject the CD/DVD Drive in Windows 7

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Leif! Now I think there may be something funny/bug in the default Win7 driver if my problem is not universal (if this is really the case, that will be a big step backward for Windows. I've never encounter such problem since using Win95. The only time I encountered this behavior was using Linux Redhat/Mandrake many years ago). I looked into the discussion threads you posted and the "driver" seems to be for the functionality of a special chassis. However my PC is a DIY one and no special chassis used.

    Note that my DVD's eject button DO WORK when the tray is empty. It does not work ONLY when the tray carries a disc.

    Most DVD drive manufacturers nowadays have no tailor made drivers but instead only provide firmware update.

    Since I know my DVD drive works well under WinXP and Vista, I'm not going to switch to Win7 for daily use for this moment, until the cause and solution for this annoyance(some people may think otherwise ) is determined.
    Maverick Tse

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick Tse View Post
    Note that my DVD's eject button DO WORK when the tray is empty. It does not work ONLY when the tray carries a disc.
    According to Liteon iHAS324 specifications this drive is not specified as comaptible with Windows 7. I recommend you contact Liteon support.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    LiteOn does not even show your model DVD drive in the download section of their website. the closest model shown is a iHAS322. They may not provide support for this drive any more. Sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm going to reinstall Win7 later and see if the problem presist. I'm not hoping to find sensible solution from this forum any more but I'll post the solution if I find one.

    There are a few points that need to be clarify to avoid misunderstanding and misconception for new reader of this thread:
    1) None of the LiteOn DVD writer products claims to be compatible with Win7 (I believe that a lot of people use old DVD drives that did not claim to be Win7/Vista compatible, but those machines will work anyway)
    2) The so-called "downloads" for iHAS322 is only brochure and product spec.
    3) iHAS324 and 424 (2009 models, 24X max DVD write speed) are newer than iHAS322 (2008 models, 22X).
    4) iHAS324 and 424 are still available from stores and the 1-year warranty for my machine has not expired yet. (no support? no way!)
    Maverick Tse

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will never buy another LiteOn DVD drive! I built a system using one then found it wouldn't read the Vista install DVD-ROM. Their "support" was useless. They suggested it was a defective disk even though it was readable on an HP drive. I had Microsoft send me a replacement which also failed. Evidently the LiteOn didn't support Microsoft's copy protection. I swapped drives and installed Vista then swapped them back. The LiteOn drive failed six months later even though it was rarely used. That was a waste of $35.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have not yet solved the problem, but there are more observations to share. (it seems a lot of people is having problem with their optical drives... )

    1) Setting AHCI or IDE mode in BIOS does not change the problem
    2) Re-install Win7 will not help
    3) Re-scan hardware in hardware manager does not help
    4) The Locked-state will continue even after restart(warm boot) before loading any OS. Lock-state will remove when Win XP is loaded again.
    5) The problem occur whenever a disc is loaded, regardless the type of disc.
    Maverick Tse

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick Tse View Post
    I have not yet solved the problem, but there are more observations to share. (it seems a lot of people is having problem with their optical drives... )

    1) Setting AHCI or IDE mode in BIOS does not change the problem
    2) Re-install Win7 will not help
    3) Re-scan hardware in hardware manager does not help
    4) The Locked-state will continue even after restart(warm boot) before loading any OS. Lock-state will remove when Win XP is loaded again.
    5) The problem occur whenever a disc is loaded, regardless the type of disc.
    Since you have done additional debugging and there are no drivers or firmware updates available, I still recommend you contact LiteOn support.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Belows are LiteON's first reply:
    Thank you for contacting LiteON IT Support.

    Regarding to your situation, please insert a small stick or
    paper clip into Eject Hole to eject the tray manually.
    Note: Turn off the power before doing this.
    Please try to use the attached SmartPack utility to check whether your drive has the latest firmware version installed. And please upgrade the firmware for your drive with the SmartPack utility if the firmware is not the latest version.


    Then please disable the drive through device manager, reboot your pc, let the
    operating system reload your drive , Check whether it runs properly.
    If possible, please try attach the drive on another PC/OS for further diagnose.
    In case the problem remains the same,that seems drive fault, please send it back to the retailer for services.

    Any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
    Best regards,
    After completing the update, the problem still presist. This is the second reply.
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Based on the message that seems drive fault, please send it back to the retailer for services.

    If you have additional questions, please let us know!
    When responding, DO please include all regarding details and previous emails.
    We know your time is valuable and hope for a prompt resolution to your inquiry.
    Further information, please visit LiteON IT Corp official web site - www.liteonit.com
    Your sincerely,
    Since my Win7 is only a trial (no serial or activation yet), my simplest solution is to stop the migration to Win7 until someday I was forced to upgrade the OS.
    Maverick Tse

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •