Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    We're converting our 32-bit Windows Server 2003 Terminal Server to 32-bit Windows Server 2008, as part of SBS2008 Premium edition.

    Does anyone know if UPHClean is still required on WS2008. There's no mention of it being supported in the Microsoft writeup/download for v1.61d dated 2007-08-03, and the blog seems to peter out with a V2 beta.

    Thanks!
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,633
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
    I checked on the two servers we work with that are running the standard version of Server 2008 (64-bit) and neither appears to be using UPHClean. One of those is using roaming logins, which seems to be a situation where you might need it.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    I checked on the two servers we work with that are running the standard version of Server 2008 (64-bit) and neither appears to be using UPHClean. One of those is using roaming logins, which seems to be a situation where you might need it.
    The important words in my post were Terminal Services - we had problems on WS2003 with Terminal Services user profiles, until I installed UPHclean...
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,633
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
    One of those servers is also running Terminal Services, although it is lightly used - only about 5 users, and it isn't running UPHClean.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    ...
    Does anyone know if UPHClean is still required on WS2008.
    ...
    No, it is not needed. It won't install, because equivalent functionality is built in to Vista / Server 2008 and later.

    ==
    James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •