Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using the most current versions of all 4 major browsers and all crash! I am using a MSI notebook with 4GB ram 32 bit Win 7 home premium. Is it Nvidia again like it was when Vista came out? This behavior rarely happened in XP professional.
    What is strange is I can run Virtualbox and a linux distro with firefox inside without a crash.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge

    Are your plugins also the very latest versions, especially Flash and Java? Do your browsers behave correctly with plugins disabled? What security apps do you have installed?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using IE8, Opera 10.1, FF 3.5.7, and Chrome. All crash within 20 minutes of use.

    FF crashes even in safe mode. Yes I am using the most current version of Java and flash. My MSI notebook came with Norton Internet Security 16. the crash log for FF is:
    Add-ons: {d40f5e7b-d2cf-4856-b441-cc613eeffbe3}:1.45,{0545b830-f0aa-4d7e-8820-50a4629a56fe}:4.1,{0538E3E3-7E9B-4d49-8831-A227C80A7AD3}:0.9.10.1,{8545daff-ad1e-493f-a37e-eed1ac79682b}:1.0,{7BA52691-1876-45ce-9EE6-54BCB3B04BBC}:3.7,{AB2CE124-6272-4b12-94A9-7303C7397BD1}:5.0.0.4825,{dc572301-7619-498c-a57d-39143191b318}:0.3.8.2,foxmarks@kei.com:3.4.6,movep layer@movenetworks.com:1.0.0.%(version)s,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.5.7
    BuildID: 20091221164558
    CrashTime: 1262912638
    InstallTime: 1262737331
    ProductName: Firefox
    SecondsSinceLastCrash: 12451
    StartupTime: 1262911221
    Theme: classic/1.0
    Throttleable: 1
    Vendor: Mozilla
    Version: 3.5.7

    This report also contains technical information about the state of the application when it crashed.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Did you do a clean install or a upgrade to Windows 7?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The Windows 7 Premimum came preinstalled from MSI.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you removed all the installed trial products that inevitably are bundled from the manufacturer? I have had problems on occassion with these programs conflicting with software I really want and install myself. I have gotten to the point that I elliminate this "junk" (my opinion) from new PC's at the beginning.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mexico City, D.F., Mexico
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What is strange is I can run Virtualbox and a linux distro with firefox inside without a crash.
    This is not strange. With a virtualbox, the guest OS is completely independent from the host OS. Do all your browsers crash on the same page or same web site? Can you disable Norton and try again?
    This eco-post is made of recycled electrons

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jay pugh View Post
    I am using the most current versions of all 4 major browsers and all crash! I am using a MSI notebook with 4GB ram 32 bit Win 7 home premium. Is it Nvidia again like it was when Vista came out? This behavior rarely happened in XP professional.
    What is strange is I can run Virtualbox and a linux distro with firefox inside without a crash.
    Hi and welcome

    One way to find out how it to check in event viewer
    type event viewer in search>windows logs>application tab
    check for errors ( they have red in the left column) that say app hang, app crash, etc
    there is a lot of data there but when you find them note the event ID and source
    If the event ID is 1000 and source 100 it is usually a dep problem.

    DEP (data execution protection) is used to prevent apps (and virus) from launching in protected memory space
    It is located in the system control panel>advanced>performance>DEP

    DEfault is for MS apps only

    Hope this helps


    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Have you removed all the installed trial products that inevitably are bundled from the manufacturer? I have had problems on occassion with these programs conflicting with software I really want and install myself. I have gotten to the point that I elliminate this "junk" (my opinion) from new PC's at the beginning.
    I have used PC Decrapifier and had very good results with my latest Toshiba Vista and my Dell XP.

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I uninstalled adobe air and some other items.

    Here is the error that I get with Opera 10.10:

    OPERA-CRASHLOG V1 desktop 10.10 1893 windows
    Opera.exe 1893 caused exception C0000005 at address 67828756 (Base: 1150000)

    How do I disable Norton without uninstalling?

    Here is another error code from my event viewer:

    [attachment=87667:event_viewer.txt]
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Are you running any other applications successfully? Since all browsers crash after a period of time, I'd say your problem is faulty memory.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It sounds as though this is a new PC. The problem could also be a hardware problem with the PC. Check with the manufacturer or reseller and make them help with hands on assistance. If you right click the Norton icon in the running programs list on the task bar there should be an option to disable Norton, at least there used to be when I used Norton.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •