Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland TN
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    first post, only discovered the "lounge" in my windows newsletter just a few minutes ago

    Heres My problem

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500 gig drive use as a 2nd drive in my PC suddenly becomes invisible in bios and my computer. The drive spins up, but is not recognized. this drive is partitioned into 2 sections. some home movies on one and many, many photos on the 2nd. I placed this drive in another pc, unplugged the main drive from it and was going to install windows again on the partition with the home movies, i have back up of those movies. X wife has back up discs of the pics. I booted 2nd pc and instantly got the blue screen of death "windows has detected a hardware problem and shut down"

    I have an identical drive in the 2nd computer, purchased at the same time, same firm ware etc. Doing some research I read the you could take the logic board from working drive with the same capacity, model # and firmware, place it on the bad drive and be able to recover your data.

    Anyone have any experience with this?

    Any input greatly appreciated. The X says she cant find the discs with the pictures

    Really want my pics back

    Thanx in advance

    Tony

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If you have access to a external usb enclosure you can plug the bad drive, try that first. Try persistently a few times you may get lucky. If it connects then get the files out as quickly as you can. The thing that you are pondering about is quite risky if you don't have the right tools and experience and may end up loosing two drives. Goodluck.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,173
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    I would not attempt to boot from that drive at all, only connect it via a second cable or a USB enclosure, then attempt to copy the data off. This prevents data corruption.
    If the drive really has died you can probably have the data recovered by a professional recovery service - not cheap.

    p.s. I have 3 Seagate 500GB drives and all were piles of ordure until I updated the firmware. Now they are perfect and my data no longer corrupts all the time.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony smith View Post
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500 gig drive use as a 2nd drive in my PC suddenly becomes invisible in bios and my computer.
    Tony
    Here's an article that addresses issues with the Seagate Barracuda 7200.11

    Click here
    Regards,
    Bob

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Savannah, GA USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland TN
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanx for the replies,

    Purchased an external enclosure this morning and no joy, does not recognize the drive when powered on, remove the drive, power then enclosure on and my computer shows I have a removable disc. when installed in the external enclosure the disc spins up but still is not recognized.

    The Firmware on this drive is SD15, will delve further and contact Seagate.


    Wondering if the SpotMau disc would recognize the drive even when the bios doesnt, really dont see how it could, but if anyone knows please let me know.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,173
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    The firmware I am using successfully is SD1A, so I would update immediately.

    Nice to see that Seagate are offering free data recovery for affected drives. Makes a change for a company to admit a problem and then offer free what is normally an expensive process.

    cheers, Paul

    [Edit] The Seagate site needs to be viewed in Internet Explorer.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    [Edit] The Seagate site needs to be viewed in Internet Explorer.
    Not sure what browser you are using but I can view the site in both IE and Firefox.
    Regards,
    Bob

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland TN
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Seagate is offering data recovery After talking with several other people on various forums, I am at a loss as to what to do with this bricked drive. My Drive is not dead, It is stuck in 'busy' mode. All the data is there, I just cant get to it. The bios will not recognize it. External enclosure will not recognize it. I cannot update it to the newer firmware

    I have used Seagate drives for over 10 years and in my stupidity never checked and realized there was a problem with the firmware. This will be my last Seagate drive.

    Talked with several people who have had the same problem, There is a solution floating around on the net.

    http://www.msfn.org/board/solution-s...s-t128807.html

    Seems rather Risky, Anyone else who frequents here know of anyway to free a drive from stuck in busy state?

    Seagate has been e-mailed and i am waiting on there reply.


    Tony

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,173
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    Bob, FF doesn't show the whole page, IE does. It's the bit at the bottom that FF doesn't show that you need.

    Tony, the Seagate site lists the hard disk types that are affected. Download SeaTools and check your disk. If it's affected the fix is firmware SD1A.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Bob, FF doesn't show the whole page, IE does. It's the bit at the bottom that FF doesn't show that you need.
    The views in both IE and FF are the same. here's the FF version:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Bob

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,173
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    OK, I see the issue now. The site remembers your recent pages and I happened to use IE when I downloaded the firmware.
    Seagate ST3500320AS firmware.
    Maxtor STM3500320AS firmware.

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland TN
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tony, the Seagate site lists the hard disk types that are affected. Download SeaTools and check your disk. If it's affected the fix is firmware SD1A.


    I cant apply the update till bios recognizes the drive.. thats my quandry

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I just did a quick Google and came up with this Tn Repair shop that claims to be able to get your data back for a flat fee.

    Might be worth an email to see if the rates are reasonable.


    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,173
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    Tony, have you tried the DOS version of SeaTools? It boots on it's own CD and will scan for drives on it's own.

    cheers, Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •