Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SP3 woes

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hello -

    I have tried to install SP3 without success. I am stuck at "Finishing Installation, Performing cleanup." The progress bar stopped at approximately 3/4 of the way to the end.

    I clicked on Help (the only one of the 4 options available to me [Back, Finish, Cancel are grey] and it was suggested to temporarily turn off virus scan (Avast)). I did turn it off, , quite sure it was too late in the installation for this to make any difference. And, it did not. The progress bar hasn't moved.

    So, I left the Software Update Installation Wizard still open, hoping a suggestion for finishing the installation will come via the Lounge. Any suggestions will be eagerly awaited.

    If I have to end the installation and since there is no Cancel option or X on the Wizard screen, do I use Task Manager to end it (it now tells me it's running).

    Thank you very much.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    As an update to my previous post, after an interminable time I was told installation was successful. After rebooting, I followed procedure and then received message to effect can't connect using my current wireless network. I tried a different network, same message (I use Netgear). There were no drivers to roll back (and the ones I had were 'working properly).

    So, long story short, I uninstalled SP3 and am back in business.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After installing SP3 on Windows XP Home Edition I had network connection problems. Checking the System tab in eventviewer led me to entries about IRPStackSize being too small (IRP stands for I/O Request Packet). Microsoft Help & Support Article ID: 285089 'Description of the IRPStackSize parameter in Windows 2000, in Windows XP, and in Windows Server 2003' explains how to increase the IRPStackSize value in the registry. In my case it was first necessary to create the IRPStackSize parameter in the registry before being able to set the value. A decimal value of 18 was enough to overcome my network problem without having to uninstall SP3.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for your post. I will stay away from SP3 for a while longer. I still don't fully understand why it's advised to install it. I have, so far, never had a security or any other serious problem with SP2.

    Curious

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    We run SP3 on 2500ish PCs where I work and it's fine. I run it at home and it's fine.
    There are some problems, but that is why you backup.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have two computers SP3 worked first time on the desktop, but my laptop would not have it at any price.

    The only way I got round it was to reformat the hard drive install all windows upgrades from disc, including SP3 which went in first time.

    I then reinstalled the programs and with a few update all is working fine.

    In some cases I think this is the only way

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I believe that SP3 will be required at some point for OS patches, as MS attempts to kill off XP support. My understanding is that they'll support it with patches to a point, but SP3 will be a required component for them to load.

    Could be wrong, of course.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I believe you are correct....Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •