Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protech chat

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I am new to Skype & recently clicked on this Protech Chat bar & it issued a free trial for 10 days. I do not want to add anything I'm not sure of...wrote to them & they said I have to download the latest version to be able to uninstall. I'm afraid!! They claim that is the only way to uninstall after trial period. The following is what they emailed back to me......

..."We have only seen issues with the uninstaller when people have not downloaded the new software. Each time you boot up you should see something telling you that a new version is available for download. You MUST download that version. We actually fixed the uninstall problem several months ago. The only way you could have any issue is if you have not downloaded that version. Incidentally, the new version much less invasive so you might want to check it out before deciding to uninstall our application. Sorry for the confusing and here is the link to the latest version:

http://www.protech1inc.com/ProtechChatBar_installer.exe

No we don't have anything to annoy you. The honest truth is that we cannot figure out what people are doing to NOT be able to remove our software. There should be a button on the bar that says your trial has expired and click here to remove. We have been chasing this issue are trying to figure it out. I would be happy to offer you a free lifetime license if you would help us figure out what is going on. Once people do get it removed they just go away so we have no idea what is fixing this. We would NEVER force anyone to use our software. NEVER> Thanks, TIm "......

What should I do???????????????

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    The application doesn't look nasty, especially as they want you to buy it.

Have you looked in Add/Remove programs for the uninstall option?

cheers, Paul

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks Paul,