Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, first time posting here, figured I'd give my ongoing problem a shot here.

    I run a small game server out of my house. The game is Freelancer by Microsoft (Digital Anvil) and has been around since 2003.
    I've been running the server out of my place since 2006, so I am not a noob when it comes to running this server. At one point during its heyday we had over 3,000 players worldwide playing on our server.

    Lately, since September, we've been having the following error causing the game to crash.
    Faulting application flserver.exe, version 1.0.1254.11, faulting module content.dll, version 1.0.1254.11, fault address 0x00014dbc.

    The error seems to happen always in that module and at that address.

    Otherwise the machine runs perfectly without any problems. Routine full scans of the HDD by AVG and Malwarebytes turn up no nasty software.
    Currently the machine is currently a dual-core Pentium4 (D) at 2.8ghz with 4G of RAM running WinXPsp3. Other than the game server software, windows, and AVG there's nothing else installed on the machine.

    We had been running the same machine, same operating system, same game, same mod, and same server management software since October of 2008 without a problem. The server management software did update back in April, but no problems between April and September.

    All of a sudden back in September we started experiencing these random crashes of the game. They do not seem to be tied to any particular player or player account.
    We tried wiping the hard disk and reinstalling everything but no joy there.
    We tried re-wiping the hard disk and having all players start with a new account and game file(s) figuring perhaps there were a number of corrupted player files but that didn't fix it either.
    Since April we've: replaced the entire machine, replaced the modem, replaced the router, and completely wiped everything. We're still getting these problems.

    What else should I be looking for before I just pull the plug. Unless you all can come up with something, I'm looking at ruling out the ISP (Comcast) by leasing a professionally hosted server (can't afford that...), or it's something hostile being done by an angry ex-player, or a competing server.

    It should be said that until the middle of December, the game program used to crash in a couple of other *.dll modules as well before finally settling down to the content.dll file. Due to the evolution of the behavior, I'm leaning towards possible hostile activity, but would like some ideas on how to catch that activity if that's what it is.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    I would have said it's a memory problem, but you have replaced the server...
    It is possible that the software has a bug that just happens to crash on your set up?

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    People's Republik of Illinois
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I thought at first, that perhaps a recent Windows update might've hosed the system.
    So, I initially formatted the system and then reinstalled WinXP and applied ONLY the service pack 3 update which was how it was initially set up and run for years.
    That didn't fix it either.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •