Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have recently switched over to Win 7 64-bit but it seems this problem can affect Vista and XP users as well, in the last few days a large number of my dektop icons have turned black, I can get them back to normal (at least temporarily) by switching to high-colour (16 bit) [screenshot in link below]

    http://vvcap.net/db/0ZsV3TSvF2LXSePscjcM.htp

    however I hope a more satisfactory solution can be found, I did update the GeForce GT 230M driver but it has made no difference.

    Thanks for any advice

    Graham

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It sounds as if either your graphics card itself - or the drivers for your graphics card - are up to the demand of your system.

    Have you tried visiting the site of your graphics card maker - or OEM or Windows Update depending on the circumstances - to see whether you've got the correct drivers onboard?
    Gre

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As I said in my original post I have updated the driver, I did this by going to the manufacturer's site and using automatic detection, the laptop (HP Pavilion dv7) is only a few weeks old and I would be surprised if it wasn't up to the task, however here are the details:

    Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M
    Total available graphics memory 2811 MB
    Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
    Dedicated system memory 0 MB
    Shared system memory 1787 MB
    Display adapter driver version 8.17.11.9562
    Primary monitor resolution 1600x900
    Secondary monitor resolution 1680x1050
    DirectX version DirectX 10

    Thanks

    Graham

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Cole View Post
    DirectX version DirectX 10
    The only thing that jumped out at me, and I may be wrong on this, but the MS site says DirectX 11. Care to check and see if that might be the problem?


    Edited to add: Sheesh, forgetfullness! I forgot to say that mine is DirectX 11 and I installed Win 7 Pro a couple of months ago, BUT not 64-bit.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    DirectX 10 seems to be correct for the graphics card in question. Anyway I eventually found this:

    http://exinor.wordpress.com/2007/07/...cons-resolved/

    The hard thing was booting in safe mode because F8 did nothing, in the end I pressed F5 and once inside I was invited to press F8 to enter safe mode, this worked. After shutting down again and rebooting normally the icons are back to normal (at least for now).

    Graham

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Cole View Post
    DirectX 10 seems to be correct for the graphics card in question. Anyway I eventually found this:

    http://exinor.wordpress.com/2007/07/...cons-resolved/

    The hard thing was booting in safe mode because F8 did nothing, in the end I pressed F5 and once inside I was invited to press F8 to enter safe mode, this worked. After shutting down again and rebooting normally the icons are back to normal (at least for now).

    Graham
    Still curous
    How did you get Directx 10 installed? Win 7 comes with Direct11 by default.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive Pugh View Post
    Still curous
    How did you get Directx 10 installed? Win 7 comes with Direct11 by default.
    As I understand it the OP posted the specifications for the GeForce GT 230M GPU and the laptop; that is, the hardware.

    Yes, Windows 7 includes DirectX 11, but the basic system requirements for the GPU are: DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver; so, the GeForce GT 230M GPU should be fine with Win7.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    AFAIK DirectX 10 was installed by the laptop manufacturer and according to specs at the NVIDIA website the graphics card in question uses this version. I don't ever remember seeing any message saying I could update to DirectX 11, however if it's possible I'm willing to try as I spoke too soon, I've just booted again and guess what?, the black icons are back

    Graham

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Cole View Post
    AFAIK DirectX 10 was installed by the laptop manufacturer and according to specs at the NVIDIA website the graphics card in question uses this version. I don't ever remember seeing any message saying I could update to DirectX 11, however if it's possible I'm willing to try as I spoke too soon, I've just booted again and guess what?, the black icons are back
    Do you have a backup plan in place, such as a disk imaging program? I think if it were me, I WOULD download a copy of DX 11 but I wouldn't want to try installing it without a good backup on an external drive prior to doing so...

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Cole View Post
    AFAIK DirectX 10 was installed by the laptop manufacturer and according to specs at the NVIDIA website the graphics card in question uses this version.
    It can work with DirectX 9. 10 or 11, whatever, but it doesn't support features more than ver. 10.

    Have you checked what you have installed? Run "dxdiag".

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Cole View Post
    I don't ever remember seeing any message saying I could update to DirectX 11, however if it's possible I'm willing to try ... [snip]
    AFAIK DirectX 11 isn't available as a standalone download for Windows 7; it's included.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Argus, I ran dxdiag and indeed it says that version 11 is installed.

    Graham

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Argus, I ran dxdiag and indeed it says that version 11 is installed.

    Graham

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Argus, I ran dxdiag and indeed it says that version 11 is installed.

    Graham

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Argus, I ran dxdiag and indeed it says that version 11 is installed.

    Graham

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Argus, I ran dxdiag and indeed it says that version 11 is installed.

    Graham

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •