Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: Dual Boot

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Hi Guys,
    I currently have XP and am installing windows 7 on a second HDD for dual boot.

    Is there a way to change between operating systems without having to re-boot each time ?
    Thanks

    Bany
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The only way I can think of if you run XP in a virtual machine if your computer supports it


    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Banya,

    If you are using Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate, and your cpu supports virtualization technology, then you can download "XP Mode" from Microsoft. This download is figured in to the purchase price of these two Windows 7 editions. A licensed copy of Win XP is included in XP Mode. However, if you are a gamer you will be better off staying with your dual boot setup. XP Mode is intended to make the move to Win 7 more attractive e to businesses and enterprises by providing them the means to continue to use their XP apps that are not Win 7 friendly. Unfortunately, Win 7 Home Premium users cannot use XP Mode, but you have other options available to run XP in a virtual machine.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I'm going to install Premium.
    I already ordered it.

    While re-booting is a pain I only plan to use it XP until I get everything transferred over to 7 and know everything is working right before deciding to get rid of XP entirely.

    But, I may still keep it. Just haven't decided for sure yet the fate of XP.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You know, a clean install over your XP will create a folder called windows.old which has ALL you XP data. You can open this folder just like any other folder and get all your XP stuff without having to reboot to go from XP to Win7, etc. You just open the folders you want to populate from XP, open the Windows.old folder and drag it over. Very sweet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Thanks ted, actually I have windows 7 on a second hard drive and am planning to do what you suggest but from one hard drive to another.

    Being my current XP is 32 bit and my windows 7 install is 64 bit I have to re-install all my programs.

    This migration is going to take a long time because I have a lot of stuff installed on XP.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Thanks ted, actually I have windows 7 on a second hard drive and am planning to do what you suggest but from one hard drive to another.

    Being my current XP is 32 bit and my windows 7 install is 64 bit I have to re-install all my programs.

    This migration is going to take a long time because I have a lot of stuff installed on XP.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Thanks ted, actually I have windows 7 on a second hard drive and am planning to do what you suggest but from one hard drive to another.

    Being my current XP is 32 bit and my windows 7 install is 64 bit I have to re-install all my programs.

    This migration is going to take a long time because I have a lot of stuff installed on XP.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •