Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Frieder View Post
    Hi Robie,

    Haven't had a chance to run your code, but was wondering if you might get a better-behaved textbox if you inserted it as an autotext (that you had previously created manually and saved as an autotext in your template), rather than creating it from scratch each time programatically - anyway, that's how I insert textboxes, and they seem to behave well.

    Frames are a somewhat deprecated feature and in any case, they are inline with text, which probably wouldn't work with the kind of layout requirement you have here.

    Gary
    That's an interesting thought Gary. There must have been a reason why I am creating it everytime but I can't remember now. The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?

    I will try your Autotext method. Presumeablly, I can move the autotexted textbox once added to a paragraph! Then add a textbox and move it arround, and see whether it disappears or not.
    Thanks.
    Robie

  2. #17
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Frieder View Post
    Hi Robie,

    Haven't had a chance to run your code, but was wondering if you might get a better-behaved textbox if you inserted it as an autotext (that you had previously created manually and saved as an autotext in your template), rather than creating it from scratch each time programatically - anyway, that's how I insert textboxes, and they seem to behave well.

    Frames are a somewhat deprecated feature and in any case, they are inline with text, which probably wouldn't work with the kind of layout requirement you have here.

    Gary
    That's an interesting thought Gary. There must have been a reason why I am creating it everytime but I can't remember now. The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?

    I will try your Autotext method. Presumeablly, I can move the autotexted textbox once added to a paragraph! Then add a textbox and move it arround, and see whether it disappears or not.
    Thanks.
    Robie

  3. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  4. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  5. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  6. #21
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  7. #22
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  8. #23
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  9. #24
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

  10. #25
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robie View Post
    The only thing is that this textbox is locked to the current paragraph and therefore needs to move with it if info is added before that paragraph. Would that be possible with autotexted(is that a new word) textbox?
    Yes, when setting up the textbox in the user interface, just set it to 'Move Object with Text' as well as 'Lock Anchor' (both can be accessed by right-clicking on the textbox, in the Format Textbox dialog click on Layout tab, then Advanced button) before you save it as an autotext. When you bring the autotext in later via code, both of these properties will be in effect.

    Gary

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •