Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,001
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Afternoon all

    Please tell me that apart from password protection there is a way to turn off tracked changes forever!! It is a feature that I absoloutly hate when my workbooks come back. I would like if it is possible to have some sort of macro that I could put into each document that I make so that when I send it out it prohibits people from soing the tracked changes but does allow them to actually make the changes.

    TIA
    Cheers

    Steve

    Asking the questions everbody wants the answers too but feels too stupid to ask themselves :-)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    It would be very easy to write a Macro that would automatically accept all tracked changes whenever you open any document. Something like the following in a DocumentOpen event.
    Code:
        With ActiveDocument
            If .Revisions.Count > 0 Then
                .AcceptAllRevisions
            End If
        End With
    I cannot imagine wanting to do this, but I guess it takes all kinds.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,001
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartR View Post
    It would be very easy to write a Macro that would automatically accept all tracked changes whenever you open any document. Something like the following in a DocumentOpen event.
    Code:
        With ActiveDocument
            If .Revisions.Count > 0 Then
                .AcceptAllRevisions
            End If
        End With
    I cannot imagine wanting to do this, but I guess it takes all kinds.
    Thanks Stuart

    I will try and implement this now. The reason that I want to do it is that I have to distribute documents of about 16 pages to 5 International and 3 national sites (only 1 document to any one site as a rule). If they use tracked changes it comes back to me with dotted lines, different colours and boxes all over the place and it is difficult for me to then do any meaningful work as the pagination and formatting seem to be all over the place. As I have the originals and I know what I put in them I can easily see what has changed.
    Cheers

    Steve

    Asking the questions everbody wants the answers too but feels too stupid to ask themselves :-)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    You could also display the Reviewing toolbar, and select 'Final' in the dropdown - that would hide all of the revision marks.

    Gary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •