New Lounger
    Thanks
    Detailed quotation of this post removed & converted to link for thread clarity

Sorry if I'm doing this cockeyed, it's my first post. I have been using True Image for several years all the way through TI Home 2009 and recently someone pointed me to Macrium Reflect Free edition. I have used it to image both WinXP Pro and Win7 drives. It works like a charm and it's free and it's faster than TI. It has no problem seeing images on external usb drives outside of Windows from the restore CD which is based on Linux and can even be installed on a usb key. I have done one restore on a test laptop and everything went without a hitch. I would also like to caution anyone trying to partition a new drive with Acronis DDS 10 prior to doing a clean Win7 install. The install will go through its routine normally but the partition will not be bootable. It took me a while to figure out what was happening. Had to erase that partition and let Windows reformat before reinstalling. Perhaps a different flavor of NTFS in Win 7 ?

Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Fritschi View Post