Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using Excel 2007, and would like to have a certain macro always be available when I start Excel.

    What are the steps? I cannot seem to find the equiv. of personal.xls....



    Thanks,
    Brad

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Excel 2007 uses the personal macro workbook - but if you haven't done any macros it might not exist yet. Just like in 2003, record a macro and tell excel to store it in the personal macro workbook. Excel will create the necessary file.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    FYI, there is a Record Macro button in the bottom-left corner of the status bar, in case you haven't spotted it. (I overlooked it for ages!)
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Personal.xls is called personal.xlsb in Excel 2007.
    Should you want to use a personal.xls file from Excel 2003 or older, I strongly advise to save it as filetype xlsb before using it.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks!

    I put the macro into the personal macro workbook. Works great! and I put the icon in the quick access bar.

    Going forward, I think I may develop an Add-in with multiple things. I found a link on the board somewhere that pointed me to:


    http://www.jkp-ads.com/articles/DistributeMacro00.asp

    Regards,
    Brad

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rory View Post
    FYI, there is a Record Macro button in the bottom-left corner of the status bar, in case you haven't spotted it. (I overlooked it for ages!)
    ! Now you tell me! Thanks Rory, I missed that.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •