Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm a committed Firefox user (using 3.5.7 and XP Media Center), like most of this community I suspect.One thing bugs me - I don't mind seeing web pages in different (or fewer) colours to IE's version, but on some sites vital information is missing altogether. EG on amazon UK the "Add to basket" and "Buy with one-click" buttons don't appear (though the cursor does change to a link when hovering n the right place).I could of course switch rendering engines or use IETab, but that rather defeats some of the objects of using Firefox. Are there any tweaks (perhaps in about:config) which would solve this?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Those buttons appear for me.

    First of all try clearing the cache and delete Amazon cookies. This can sometimes resolve rendering problems.

    If that does not help, the next option is to check to see if an add-on is causing the problem try running Firefox in safe mode, for details of how to do that see Firefox Safe Mode, in the dialog that appears select "Continue in Safe Mode", then browse to Amazon. If the buttons then appear it indicates a problem with an add-on, if that is the case see troubleshooting extensions and themes

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried to post this reply, but got confused and am not sure if it's posted already! Anyway, I've tried all these and it hasn't worked. Thanks for the response, though!

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry to keep on about this, but Amazon etc has always worked fine for me using*Opera.*

    In the interests of full disclosure I have to state that there are some sites that don't work with Opera, but not as many as there used to be...

    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard sorrynomorenames Phillips View Post
    ... EG on amazon UK the "Add to basket" and "Buy with one-click" buttons don't appear (though the cursor does change to a link when hovering n the right place).
    I am using FF and am at Amazon.com.uk
    and have no problems with the icons showing up. I would suggest you try running FF in Safe Mode as TonyE suggested. Make sure you in FF you click File/Exit first and then go to Start/All Programs and follow the prompts. It's a trick that has helped quite a few users on another forum I frequent.

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    If it works in Safe Mode, then you may have a buggy add on that is causing the issue.
    Chuck

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Much appreciate everybody's answers - but even Safe Mode doesn't do it! Anything else to try?

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Another troubleshooting step is to create a new profile. Firefox stores user data in a profile, by creating a new profile you can test to see if the problem is caused by something in your profile. For details of how to do this see creating a new Firefox profile on Windows - MozillaZine Knowledge Base

    If the new profile does not have the problem, you can transfer some data, such as your bookmarks, links which show how to do that are contained in the article I linked to on creating a new profile.

    If a new profile does not solve the problem, it indicates an outside application may be causing the problem, this will include internet security applications, ad-blocking applications or plugins used by Firefox.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, using a new profile has solved it!! Now I'm having problems finding icons for Quicknote and Print Preview (which I has before). I'll keep testing it as I add extensions back again.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard sorrynomorenames Phillips View Post
    Yes, using a new profile has solved it!! Now I'm having problems finding icons for Quicknote and Print Preview (which I has before). I'll keep testing it as I add extensions back again.
    Print Preview Add-on

    QuickNote Add-on

    Hey Jude
    Take a sad song and make it better

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have installed these two - but no icons have appeared, and Quicknotes (and Xmarks) isn't on the Tools menu. I might try reinstalling Firefox

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard sorrynomorenames Phillips View Post
    Have installed these two - but no icons have appeared, and Quicknotes (and Xmarks) isn't on the Tools menu. I might try reinstalling Firefox
    Re-installing Firefox will not help. You need to re-install any add-ons that you have used, and if after restarting Firefox the add-ons do not appear in the tools menu or the toolbars, check the options dialogs for the add-ons to see if there is a setting to add the icon to the toolbars.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Despite your comment above (but thanks anyway), I did uninstall / reinstall Firefox 3.6. However I've since installed :
    1 - Google Bar: which hasn't appeared, nor is it available from the Customise right-click menu. The Options work OK.
    2 - Xmarks: which does work, but again doesn't feature on the Tools menu or with an icon. However it (and its Options) does at least work!
    Incidentally, I've just tried my laptop (Vista Basic), which also has Firefox 3.6 - and also doesn't show the Amazon Buy and Basket links.

    Quiicknotes isn't compatible with 3.6, so I've lost that (and IE Tab) anyway. But at least with my new Profile the rendering is OK. Now if I could find an alternative to QuickNotes - showing vital remindr information on a side column (not in a separate program) I'd be a lot happier!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •