New Lounger
    Thanks
    I would like to re-install Windows XP on my Dell Dimension. I will be starting out on a new hard drive.I have five cd's,that came with the computer. The first one is the operating system reinstallation cd, which has the operating system on it.The remaining cd's are software reinstallation cd's. I have downloaded the Automated System Recovery backup program, that Woody described in his book.I used the second option which states: Everyones documents and settings.The file is holding 14GB of backup files, that I transferred to my external hard drive.I have never done a re-installation before.Would I need to re-install all five cd's before restoring from the ASR backup program, or will the ASR program install some of the programs and maybe I will not need to use all 5 CD's?Has anyone ever done this procedure before? Does anyone have a better idea? I will be looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks a bunch! Tony C

Thanks
    Hi Rusty, and welcome to the Lounge!
    I have never used the ASR backup or restore, but I would definitely restore the backup to your new hard drive first, then take inventory on everything you recovered, and copy back or install anything you need that did not originally get backed up with ASR.
    Deadeye81

"We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

Thanks
    What is your reason for wanting to reintall? You can use drive imaging software to migrate to the new hard drive.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

"The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

New Lounger
    Thanks