Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I'm not very smart about networks, so I'm hoping someone can help me in spite of my "ignorance."

    I run an home desktop under Windows 7, with a broadband connection (Road Runner).
    I signed up for OpenDNS when I was using XP, and have continued under Windows 7.

    My problem is that when I run the OpenDNS updater it tells me I have one IP address and a second HTTP address.
    Because of that, it also tells me OpenDNS wont do any blocking of sites that I might have indicated that I wanted to be blocked.

    I didn't have this problem under XP, and the OpenDNS dynamic IP updater worked fine.

    Does anyone have any idea on how to resolve this Issue?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dick

    PS,
    If it's relevant, I dont have a router; and am connected through a modem.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    I would ask this question on the OpenDNS site.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have found that the parental controls built into Win 7 and IE 8 are very good at filtering content. I personally have never used OpenDNS, but can understand how it would help with controls on older OSs, but with Vista and Win 7 these built in controls are very good. Check them out. Control Panel, Parental Controls, and/or IE8 Tools, Internet options, Content, Parental Controls.

    If you are using OpenDNS for something other than parental controls, then sorry to waste you time.

    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thank you both for your responses. It may sound corny, but I dont think you're wasting anyone's time, Ted, when you're offering some helpful suggestions.

    Dick

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I had this issue come up the other day again, after tweaking W7. After chasing down many Google leads, I found that this fixed the issue:

    Flush the DNS Cache, using an Admin Command: ipconfig /flushdns

    I'm documenting this in case anyone else has the same problem.

    Dick
    PS,
    To Paul, who said above: "I would ask this question on the OpenDNS site. cheers, Paul":
    When someone comes here with a Windows problem do you tell them to ask Microsoft?
    What's the point of coming here if we dont try to help each other out?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for posting back with the update. This could be very useful for someone else.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I'm not Paul.

    Dick Y

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    DickY, we do not have the answers to everything here, so I suggested you ask the people who's product you are using. It is often a good idea to ask in more than one place.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    I'm not Paul.

    Dick Y
    Oh, sorry Dick. I just had another senior moment. Sorry again.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •