Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,

    I am trying to install phpMyAdmin for my campaign site (the "Science, Just Science" Campaign) using the web based installation method ... I am using version 3.2.5.

    I have uploaded in and, sticking with the defaults as far as possible:

    Verbose name of this server [default: blank]
    Server hostname [default: localhost]
    Server port [default: blank]
    Server socket [default: blank]
    Use SSL [default: unchecked]
    Connection type [default: tcp]
    PHP extension to use [default: mysqli]
    Compress connection [default: unchecked]
    Authentication type [default: cookie]
    User for config auth [default: root]
    Password for config auth [default: blank]
    Connect without password [default: unchecked]
    SweKey config file [suggested: /etc/swekey.conf]
    IOW I have run the setup in my browser and configured as above.

    My problem is I am unable to log in ... I only need this to correct a forum issue so can anyone provide assistance with this?

    Kyu

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Have you tried the phpMyAdmin site for answers?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Have you tried the phpMyAdmin site for answers?
    Yeah, I've tried just about everything (including the Agora forum, they're the people that said use phpMyAdmin to solve my problems) ... now I've asked a friend to have a look.

    Thanks

    Kyu

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyuuketsuki View Post
    Yeah, I've tried just about everything (including the Agora forum, they're the people that said use phpMyAdmin to solve my problems) ... now I've asked a friend to have a look.
    Is this the only webapp on the machine? What is its default port?

    Is it being installed on a server? What server?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Withyham, Sussex, England
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    As your site is running joomla it must therefore have Mysql for the database and it would be really unusual for any web-server that is running MySql not to have phpmyadmin already installed! I should have a look again in the cpanel for phpmyadmin. I like your mission statement.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Guys,

    I never succeeded but it turns out that the site has the capability to do what I want (a standard control panel)

    Thanks for the help anyway

    James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •