Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wikltshire UK
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Guys,

    Anyone solved this one:

    I need to transfer an Access form with module to other machines on the network, during live development.

    I can detect them

    strName = dbs.Containers(OBJ).Documents(FormName).Name
    Where strName is a boolean, OBJ = Path and FormName = "Form Name"

    docmd.OutputTo --> Refers to Printing an Object

    And there is no docmd.transferobject Available.

    I am assuming you can export an Object but don't have the commands in my Vocab, research has elicited no results.

    Anyone done this or have an Approach

    TX in Antici Graliv

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Docmd.TransferDatabase allows you to transfer object between databases.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wikltshire UK
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Oooops. Oh well there goes my Professional Status.

    Brain wasn't engaged.

    Graliv

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    This sort of thing gets pretty tricky if you have multiple developers working on a project. For one thing, you have to have exclusive access to the receiving database - in other words it cannot be opened by another user. We typically use a manual transfer of objects rather than doing it with code, or we use a "source control" package like Visual Source Safe or the Visual Studio tools.

    On the other hand, if this is the deployment of changes to users, then we replace the entire database and copy down the new changes to the users that way. You can do that with a batch file that gets run at login to the network, or you can use a deployment tool such as is available from FMS or others. (There is a downside to that approach if you are allowing users to do customizing that amounts to design changes - for expample if you allow them to create their own queries. Those changes get lost when the update occurs.) Just some thoughts on the development process based on 20 years of development - hope it helps.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wikltshire UK
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The way I've resolved this is by checking that all Databases exist and are not open by looping through the known network locations of the files, and checking that the form/Db exists and that the .ldb file does not then exporting the updated form, as the VBA module is embedded.

    All operators are within shouting distance, so for the moment this works.

    Thanks All

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Seeing as you know where these database (FE's i assume) why not just copy the FE you have changes in in place of these FE's

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •