Thread: 64bit ???

Lounger
    Thanks
    I am ready to replace our 7 yr old computer. I have heard so many downsides to 64bit that I'm hesitant. The only computers I've found so far are 64bit. I don't see any 32 bit. If finding software for 64 bit is so hard, what do you do. Will my printer work on 64 bit, will my wireless mouse work, and so on. Am I over reacting?
    I'm basically an advanced beginner so I am sure there is more to this than I understand.
    If someone could just direct me to some answers, I would sure appreciate it.
    Thanks to all you human computer encyclopedias. You are really appreciated!

Twinkie

Thanks
    Hi Twinkie and welcome

I do support on other forums. 64 bit is more difficult for drivers and seems to BSOD at a substantially higher rate. I think however that you dont have much choice. 32 bit is on its way out and windows 8 is going to be 64bit only I think.

I do believe most of current apps and devices will work and with SP1 on its way the current problems should be worked out

Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Twinkie View Post
    I am ready to replace our 7 yr old computer. I have heard so many downsides to 64bit that I'm hesitant. The only computers I've found so far are 64bit. I don't see any 32 bit. If finding software for 64 bit is so hard, what do you do. Will my printer work on 64 bit, will my wireless mouse work, and so on. Am I over reacting?
    I'm basically an advanced beginner so I am sure there is more to this than I understand.
    If someone could just direct me to some answers, I would sure appreciate it.
    Thanks to all you human computer encyclopedias. You are really appreciated!