Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have an older photo editing program called Microsoft Photodraw. I am very familiar with it and would like to be able to continue using it on a new laptop that I just bought that has Windows 7 64 bit.

    How can I find out if it is compatible with Windows 7? And if it is not compatible, is there any way that I can use it on my Windows 7 system?

    Thanks for your help.

    PS - I just bought the new system and even though I am reading that Windows 7 is wonderful, I can see that I will have a steep learning curve so will probably be posting several questions in the future.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi trebor,

    You can go to this site Microsoft has set up to answer compatibility questions. The programs they list evaluate whether they will run in 32 bit, 64 bit Windows 7, or both editions. They also advise if an upgrade to your older software can be had. Software they know to run in compatibility mode should be tagged as such.

    Even if your software is not listed in their database, you could try to install it and run it in compatibility mode to see if there are any issues. I have Microsoft Money 2005 Deluxe that is listed as not being compatible at all. I installed it and set it to run in XP Service Pack 2 compatibility and it seemed to run without any issues (my laptop has Win7 64 bit also). However, I only tested it for around five days and then uninstalled it as I have an XP machine I can still run it on. If you attempt to do this, I would allow some time to get familiar enough with your new laptop to be sure there are no pesky issues with it before installing any software that could potentially be a problem.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Hi and welcomw

    I suspect it is not compatible, but there is a way. If your computer is able to run XP virtaul mode, it will run in that.

    Good luck

    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Poquoson, Virginia,USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a diet program that will not run on my 64bit Win7 Ultimate system. I installed Virtual XP and now it works fine. You have to have Win7 Pro or Ultimate to have the Virtual XP feature. I cannot tell that my machine has taken a performance hit with that feature installed.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Photodraw is not listed in the compatibility list at MS. Sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am running Microsoft Photodraw V2.0 on Win 7 32-bit Pro with no special considerations and it seems to be running perfectly, but I've only used it lightly so far and have not accessed all the commands and options yet.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy Hale View Post
    I have a diet program that will not run on my 64bit Win7 Ultimate system. I installed Virtual XP and now it works fine. You have to have Win7 Pro or Ultimate to have the Virtual XP feature. I cannot tell that my machine has taken a performance hit with that feature installed.
    I also have the Virtual XP though I've not found much use for it due to it's 16MB 2-D graphical limitations. I do know that it shouldn't cause any performance problems when you aren't using it and once it starts it pretty efficient with memory. When it comes to Media and games I would advise against using Virtual Machines though because such programs tend to use more resources and are more dependent upon a good graphics card.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron Tarbox View Post
    I am running Microsoft Photodraw V2.0 on Win 7 32-bit Pro with no special considerations and it seems to be running perfectly, but I've only used it lightly so far and have not accessed all the commands and options yet.
    Are you using the VIRTUAL XP to run Photodraw or did you just install it so it can be used with Windows 7?

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Are you using the VIRTUAL XP to run Photodraw or did you just install it
    with no special considerations
    --native, it was a pleasant surprise.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    What happens for those of us who's PC does not support XP mode??? I'm not sure I want to, but there must be many like me who do not have that option, even though we have appropriate versions of Win 7 (Ultimate in my case) or the wrong version (HPin my wife's case)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HOORAY - I just installed PHOTODRAW 2000, V2 into my laptop with Windows 7 Premium and it is working just fine. It was just a straight installation - nothing special. Thanks BYRON.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    What happens for those of us who's PC does not support XP mode??? I'm not sure I want to, but there must be many like me who do not have that option, even though we have appropriate versions of Win 7 (Ultimate in my case) or the wrong version (HPin my wife's case)
    There are other software virtualization programs out there other than MS XP mode. Some may actually be better.
    ...If your cpu is capable of supporting it.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •