I hope the punishment for querying the sage counselors of this group about separate applications is not too draconian. I trust you'll be able to excuse me when you understand my motive. My previous Access inquiry here showed me what a superlative resource this board is, and my current question, although it relates to the crude "flat file" of Works 6.0's database, IS at least database-related. I've become so impressed by the sheer expertise on display here that I thought a few of you might wish to "clean your palates," so to speak, between more substantive and arcane Access queries. Even if you have no direct knowledge of Works 6.0's database, I'm sure whatever Access-based comments you make will be relevant to my application. I suspect my problem is a very elementary one.

I wrote my first-ever database formula this afternoon, so I'm an utter novice at formulae. I've "noodled around" in Works 6.0's crude database for the last couple of years, so I'm not completely unfamiliar with the application. In my use of previous Works databases I actually manually ran tallies of data myself, by adding them on the Windows Calculator, and by then copying the results to the relevant field of the database. I'm now ready at last to "move into
the big time" (so to speak...) and to have these simple calculations done automatically for me by the database application itself.