Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Mail Merge 2007

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We have converted to Office 2007 and find we need to modify a Word Template to use a new source for obtaining the data. The current source is a query that resides in an MS/Access database that has been converted to the new format. I have tried using the Wizard which does allow me to obtain the query from the new formatted database but I have been unable to save the new location. Is there a way for me to permanently save the new location in this template?
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Are you certain you are dealing with a template? (Does the file have a .DOTx extension?) Mail Merge Master documents normally store the location of the data source (and the type) in that document. If you do a merge and then save the main document with the merge field codes in it, the source should be remembered.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DJLansing View Post
    We have converted to Office 2007 and find we need to modify a Word Template to use a new source for obtaining the data. The current source is a query that resides in an MS/Access database that has been converted to the new format. I have tried using the Wizard which does allow me to obtain the query from the new formatted database but I have been unable to save the new location. Is there a way for me to permanently save the new location in this template?
    Hi DJLansing,

    You might find that you need to remove the header data from the document. When you open the document, click 'yes' to run the query, then 'options' and 'remove header/data source'. Having done that, recreate the connection to the new data source.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi WendellB and macropod,
    Yes, I'm working with the template. When I save it I have to save it as a .dotm because I have a macro that cleans up HTML tags.
    I've opened the Wizard, changed to the new locatation and then done a 'Save As'.

    Thanks macropod, I'll give that a try.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •