Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello,
    I have a roughly ten year old Dell Inspiron laptop that I no longer use because of my shiny new desktop. The laptop does run well however, but I have Windows ME and IE 6 on it as well as Norton AV 2004 with current virus definitions.
    It has a 10G HD and 128 of RAM (don't laugh.. that was impressive coming from a Win 3.0 32MB RAM desktop )
    I could be online with it and surf reasonably well, and the only other reason I use it is that my MP3 player is not compatable with Vista and I need the software to put songs on the player.

    I have tried to upgrade IE on it and also d/l Firefox, but both will not download because of my OS and I hate getting online with it because IE 6 is full of security holes.
    Upgrading isn't an option as there is not enough memory or HD space for Vista (m aybe XP?)

    Questions:
    Are there any browsers out there i can use that are safer than IE 6 and are compatable with ME?
    Can I get a copy of XP to upgrade? Will it fit?
    Is it worth trying crack it open and upgrade the RAM if possible?

    Not earth shattering.. just wondering..
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,833
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='785874' date='23-Jul-2009 09:12'][/quote]
    My view of 'old' (or even 'olde'!) equipment is that you can put considerably more time into trying to upgrade it than it is worth. Your laptop really needs
    • a considerably faster CPU
    • around 4-8 times the memory
    • ten times the hard disk size
    • a better screen with improved resolution
    • a DVD drive
    • USB ports (does it have any at all?)
    to run Windows XP.

    And this is from someone who yesterday installed an XP Pro PC with a 1 GHz Pentium III to act as a sort of 'thin client'! And still has a Windows 98SE box at home in good working order.

    XP would be difficult to obtain and itself would cost more than the laptop is worth.

    My opinion would be to give the old laptop a good home at the recyclers. That's unless, as an exercise, you want to try installing Windows 7 on it! (I can't find the fairly recent news story to that effect, I'm afraid...)
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    As long as your security software is up-to-date, IE6 shouldn't be a problem, but the Opera Web Browser is more secure and it runs on Windows 95 and later.

    128 MB RAM is far too little for Windows XP - you need at least 512 MB, preferably 768 MB or 1 GB. I have no idea whether your old Inspiron supports that much, you could search using the exact model number.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='785886' date='23-Jul-2009 09:55']As long as your security software is up-to-date, IE6 shouldn't be a problem, but the Opera Web Browser is more secure and it runs on Windows 95 and later.

    128 MB RAM is far too little for Windows XP - you need at least 512 MB, preferably 768 MB or 1 GB. I have no idea whether your old Inspiron supports that much, you could search using the exact model number.[/quote]


    Thanks guys..
    My virus definitions are up to date but I have no firewall on it.
    It's an Inspiron 4000 and yes, one whole USB port-1.0 of course
    I'll try the Opera browser.. No need to upgrade necessarily, Win ME works just fine. I'm just looking for safe browsing on the internet.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Firefox 2 runs well on Win 9x/Me. It's my default browser on my Win 98 box at home.

    If you are serious about extending the life of a Win 9x machine you should check out the geeks here:
    http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showforum=8
    One of their gizmos (KernelEx) allows you to run stuff (like FF3) on Win 9x/ME systems that normally requires Win 2K/XP or higher, though I've not tried that particular app as yet.

    It all depends what you want from your old machine and how sad you are! Me, I like tinkering and I don't mind if I break something big time, I'll just reinstall from scratch and learn from my mistake.

    Ken

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='stuck' post='786680' date='29-Jul-2009 13:59']Firefox 2 runs well on Win 9x/Me. It's my default browser on my Win 98 box at home.

    If you are serious about extending the life of a Win 9x machine you should check out the geeks here:
    http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showforum=8
    One of their gizmos (KernelEx) allows you to run stuff (like FF3) on Win 9x/ME systems that normally requires Win 2K/XP or higher, though I've not tried that particular app as yet.

    It all depends what you want from your old machine and how sad you are! Me, I like tinkering and I don't mind if I break something big time, I'll just reinstall from scratch and learn from my mistake.

    Ken[/quote]

    Hi Ken,
    Thanks for your post. I finally wound up downloading Opera. I would have liked Firefox, but I couldn't find that version available on the mozilla website.
    So far so good..

    I am planning a new laptop soon. (But not soon enough.. my toaster just blew up and I need another car! ) Until then, the only alternative to the Vista desktop in my spare room (no TV) is my ME laptop.
    I'd have to say apart from a few quirks, I've had more fiddly problems with Vista than I ever did with ME.
    Right now, FF 3.5 and IE8 are driving me nuts..
    Thanks again

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='786856' date='30-Jul-2009 14:05']Hi Ken,
    Thanks for your post. I finally wound up downloading Opera. I would have liked Firefox, but I couldn't find that version available on the mozilla website.
    So far so good..[/quote]

    Take a look at Oldversion.com for the version of FireFox you want. It's there.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Doc got there first with his link to oldversions but you can also get FF2 'from the horse's mouth', as it were, here:
    http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...%202.0.0.20.exe

    Ken

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='stuck' post='786962' date='31-Jul-2009 11:48']Doc got there first with his link to oldversions but you can also get FF2 'from the horse's mouth', as it were, here:
    http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...%202.0.0.20.exe

    Ken[/quote]


    Thanks stuck,
    Sorry so long to reply, I didn't see this till just now. Not sure how to get email notifications of responses to my posts?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='788171' date='09-Aug-2009 18:43']Not sure how to get email notifications of responses to my posts?[/quote]
    In the "Post Options" section between the area where you compose a post and the submit/preview buttons, there's a check box "Enable email notification of replies?". You have to make sure this is ticked.

    [attachment=85034:x.png]

    If you want it to be ticked by default, click Controls in the Lounge "Menu bar", then click "Email Settings" in the Options section on the left.
    Tick the check box "Enable 'Email Notification' by default?" and choose the delivery option that you prefer.
    Don't forget to click the button "Amend my email settings" when you're done.

    [attachment=85035:x.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (2.3 KB, 19 views)
    • File Type: png x.png (7.5 KB, 18 views)

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='788182' date='09-Aug-2009 19:54']In the "Post Options" section between the area where you compose a post and the submit/preview buttons, there's a check box "Enable email notification of replies?". You have to make sure this is ticked.

    [attachment=85034:x.png]

    If you want it to be ticked by default, click Controls in the Lounge "Menu bar", then click "Email Settings" in the Options section on the left.
    Tick the check box "Enable 'Email Notification' by default?" and choose the delivery option that you prefer.
    Don't forget to click the button "Amend my email settings" when you're done.

    [attachment=85035:x.png][/quote]
    Thank you Hans!

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If you are still running WinME you don't have to worry about viruses because they will not harm your system. I troubleshoot my client's old system also running WinME & found out his Norton antivirus expired years ago. He still continue his internet activities without any apparent problems but that the PC is running extremely slow. I uninstall the Norton & installed a freeware antivirus, did an update & a complete scan - there were more than 2000 different virus & spyware in the system. His system is not affected because all these virus are targetting WinXP & WinME seems to be immuned but it will affect his mailing contacts as the virus will piggybacked on to emails.
    Intel Core 2 6750/ 4Gb 1066 RAM DDR2/ NV GTS250 1Gb PCIe/ HDD X 5 = 4TB/ DVDRW X 4/ OCZ 700W PSU & running on Vista Ultimate 64bit

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Lee View Post
    If you are still running WinME you don't have to worry about viruses because they will not harm your system...
    I don't agree with this, but I guess it depends on which viruses you happen to catch.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Howdy,

    I was forced into using (temporarily) an old Sony Viao running ME, 700MHz, 512M RAM, 20G HD. I had last upgraded it several years ago, needed to do it again to be 'safe'.
    The only apps I could find that were compatible with ME and this outdated ME box nowadays are (a minimal setup to say the least):

    Browser- Latest Opera V. 10.10, works great! Supports multiple windows and tabs just fine. There simply is no better browser (nor has been for many years). Also using Firefox 2.0.0.20 on this machine (think it is the last version to run on ME), but don't trust it for secure stuff.
    Using IE8, Firefox, and various others on the main machine also, but Opera can't be beat.

    AV suite-- avast! V. 4.8 Home Edition Free was the only one I found that ran on ME. It works OK, updates itself twice a day.
    Using AntiVir and AVS on the main machine.

    Firewall-- Only one I found still runnable on ME is Sygate Personal Firewall, V. 5.6. This is an obsolete, unsupported firewall, but it still seems to work.
    I prefer Comodo on my main machine.

    I found out that printer drivers are a problem. Old (but nice) printers that I have that support ME are broken, my newer HP deskjet doesn't support ME, falling back to a multi-function older printer when I get around to picking it up at the ex's.

    Gotta fix the main machine (XP Pro, multi-procs, 16G RAM, 1+T HD space), but this is the third major crash and I'm just wore out with it. (don't ask, ran the Microsloth Win7 suitability upgrade app, and a day later my program/app harddrive MBR was trashed??? They wouldn't, would they?)

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartR View Post
    I don't agree with this, but I guess it depends on which viruses you happen to catch.
    same here. I see no sense in anyone saying not to worry about computer viruses. not all but some new types of viruses CAN harm Win9x/ME machines. fortunately some antivirus makers (like ESET's NOD32 and avast!) are still supplying recent updates to their old software that still functions under Win9xME.

    @J North, why are you using Comodo software? I heard Comodo has had a bad reputation lately. For one, I am NOT letting any Comodo software touch my computers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •