Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    winchcombe, gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a new 64 bit Dell laptop installed with Windows 7 Home Premium. When I open Control Panel and then try to select one of the links, the computer stalls and I get the error message "Windows Explorer not responding". On exiting from Control Panel I get the dialoge box allowing me to close or restart the program. When I try for the second time there is usually no problem; ie the fault is intermittent. I have not, as yet, found any program other than Control Panel that gives me this fault. I have tried Action Center to try and find an answer, but have not yet been succesful. A Google search indicated that the answer probably lies in a conflict with a program installed on the computer, but running "Problems Step Recorder" while trying to access the links in Control Panel provides a report, but no indication which third party program might be causing the problem. So, I am stuck. Any sugggestions will be gratefully received.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Since this is a new PC I would first suggest to get rid of all the junkware that commonly are installed by the manufacturer. Use either Revo Uninstaller or Decrapifier. and see if conflicts with junkware is causing the problem. I would also suggest a contact with the PC manufacturer or retailer is you purchased it retail.

    I hope this helps.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I also have a new Dell Laptop system running Windows 7 Premium -64 bit and have experienced the same issue with Control Panel and Windows Explorer. Obviously there is some commonality in the issue.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Most likely there is a faulty third party control panel addin.

    Have you checked the Application Event log to see if a .cpl file caused a crash?

    If not, you may need to search out all third party control panel applets (i.e. non-Microsoft files with .cpl extension). Then move them one at a time to a different location until the culprit is identified.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    winchcombe, gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Three responses within 24 hours of posting my first problem in the Lounge. I am very impressed and many thanks for the guys who replied, all of whom are Stateside. My intial reactions:

    JoeP: I checked the Event Viewer without finding any obvious answers. I will continue to view the log immediatrely after I get my recurring problem and check it out again. Prior to your suggestion, I had not used this useful tool before. I understand all the .cpl files are stored in System 32 and when I looked there, I counted nearly 50 .cpl files listed. But it was not possible to distinguish Microsoft files from third party files; opening the "Properties" of each file did not show the owner of the file. If you can advise on how I can identify third party .cpl files, this would be most helpful.

    trebor: Nice to know I am not alone. If we can exchange our Dell-installed Junkware, we might find a common feature. I have pre-installed on my computer: Dell Quickset, Dell Dock, Dell Quickset64, Cisco EAP/PEAP/LEAP modules, Power DVD DX from Cyberlink Corp and WildTangent Games. All these programs are listed in the "Uninstall" list. There were others, but I have already uninstalled these and still have my "not responding" problem.

    Ted Myers: As you can see from my response to trebor above, I am starting to remove the programs I don't want and this may provide the answer in due course. Here in the UK, technical service from Dell is not good and not cheap. Although my new computer is around only 1 month old, Dell do not provide free support for software issues and only limited support for hardware failures. Their FAQs on the Dell website don't cover my problem.

    Many thanks again for your interest in my problem. I hope to get there in the end.

    RP

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Pragnell View Post
    Three responses within 24 hours of posting my first problem in the Lounge. I am very impressed and many thanks for the guys who replied, all of whom are Stateside. My intial reactions:
    Ted Myers: As you can see from my response to trebor above, I am starting to remove the programs I don't want and this may provide the answer in due course. Here in the UK, technical service from Dell is not good and not cheap. Although my new computer is around only 1 month old, Dell do not provide free support for software issues and only limited support for hardware failures. Their FAQs on the Dell website don't cover my problem.

    Many thanks again for your interest in my problem. I hope to get there in the end.

    RP
    That's terrible, Dell has been know as very reliable, but obviously we are in the states and have no experience with them overseas. Unfortunately, even when we call most manufacturers we also speak with some one in India or such, so in that respect we are all in the same boat so to speak.

    I also really think the problems lies in 3rd party S/W or addons. You will have to update us on which if any causes your problem. I assume you are removing them one at a time to isolate the offending app if this is really the problem. Good luch and let us know.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Don't be so quick to point the finger at 3rd party apps. Look at the thread I started about Win7 Not Responding. Here's the Tiny URL: http://bro.ws/770596L I've got a Dell Optiplex 745 that's around 2 years old that is giving me the "Not Responding" message pretty much everywhere. I've seen it opening Event Viewer, changing web pages in IE and Firefox, changing folders in Windows Explorer, you name it.

    Good luck!
    Walt

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    winchcombe, gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My thanks again for those that responded to my problem. Since I first posted, I have tried uninstalling some junk programs with no effect (one up to you, Walt), but I have now found a work-around. My problem has been the inability to access programs from the Control Panel, the first time I try. On the second and subsequent trys I am OK and the "W.E. not responding" error does not occur. What I have found is that if I change the display designation on Control Panel from "Link" to "Menu" (right click on "Start", select "Properties/Start Menu/ Customise and change the Contol Panel options from Link to Menu"), then I can access all the programs in "Control Panel" first time and every time. Why this is so is a complete mystery to me, but it works on my computer. If anyone has a technical explanation for this, I will be pleased to hear from you.

    RP

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Pragnell View Post
    My thanks again for those that responded to my problem. Since I first posted, I have tried uninstalling some junk programs with no effect (one up to you, Walt), but I have now found a work-around. My problem has been the inability to access programs from the Control Panel, the first time I try. On the second and subsequent trys I am OK and the "W.E. not responding" error does not occur. What I have found is that if I change the display designation on Control Panel from "Link" to "Menu" (right click on "Start", select "Properties/Start Menu/ Customise and change the Contol Panel options from Link to Menu"), then I can access all the programs in "Control Panel" first time and every time. Why this is so is a complete mystery to me, but it works on my computer. If anyone has a technical explanation for this, I will be pleased to hear from you.

    RP
    This solunds very much as if one of the Dell extensions to Control Panel does not work properly under 64-bit Windows. Unless you are certain that you want to do away with the functionality that this Dell Applet offers you, the best solution would seem to be to leave things as you have now got them running. It is not an ideal solution, but it may well be the best for your circumstances.
    Gre

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Youngstown, OH
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a similar issue.
    Here is the fix that I posted in a different thread,

    "If you remove BCMWLCPL.CPL from the C:/Windows/System32 folder, the control panel will not crash. This file is the Dell Wireless WLAN Card Utility.
    If you experience a similar issue, I suggest you move the file BCMWLCPL.CPL to another location and edit the Dell Wireless WLAN Card Utility shortcut provided in your Start Menu to point to the new location."

    I moved the .cpl file in question to a folder I have called "tweaks" and pointed the Dell Wireless WLAN Card Utility to the new location. Simply deleting the .cpl file from System32 works as well, and causes no problems, other than not being able to use the Dell WLAN Utility.

    Seems like a .cpl conflict between a MS and Dell file extension.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    winchcombe, gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Marshall

    I thought I was pretty clever finding my work-around, but you have topped me. I did as you suggested and moved my BCMWLCPL.CPL file to another location and - eureka, problem solved. Well done. An earlier post (JoeP) thought my problem was a corrupt .cpl file, but did not know which one. You have saved me working through all 50 of them! At the moment, I connect via a cable, but if, in future, I use the built-in Dell wireless system I will have to remember the new location of the problem .cpl file. We clearly have a problem here caused by Dell and I will try and contact them to advise them of the fault. Which will not be easy, since here in the UK they become invisible once the computer sale has been made.

    My thanks again to all who contributed to this thread.

    RP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •