Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yes I know I should be answering the question BUT.....
    I have a USERFROM in Excel.
    Recently ODD behavior.

    Any changes to workbook are kept
    Any additional Controls on the user form are kept.
    Changes to the size of the user form are kept

    BUT....

    Any Changes to Existing Controls
    Caption, Size , Position, Font (whatever) are Lost as soon as the form is used.
    Everything reverts to its Original Size/Position/Caption

    Anyone else experienced this.

    It is either very silly, or possibly the form is badly broken

    I even tried Creating a New Form and Copying the controls on to it (BUT NO JOY)

    I tried Deleting some of them then Compiling, then saving the Workbook.
    As soon as it was opened they came back top their original specification.

    Intesestingly or NOT as the case may be, any changes to code behind the form is fine.

    AARRGHH (I'd rather not build it from Scratch)
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Arrgh! indeed. I have no suggestions - since you are doing everything I would have done.

    Just sympathy.

    A thought - have you copied it all to a different workbook?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    What is even scarier is

    I created a brand new form from scratch
    Added the controls as NEW (did not copy and paste)
    There is NO initialize routine that does anything to the form in any way.
    Did a save it was fine

    Then closed the book

    Opened it up.
    Looked at the form (that's the new one)

    ONLY the equivalent of the NEW controls from the old form were there.
    All the others had vanished.

    Me thinks that this workbook is in a bad place

    and so ARGHHHH! I need to build it from scratch.

    There are other words but I cannot write them here!

    A thought - have you copied it all to a different workbook?
    I might just try that first though. (Later on).

    If I find out what it is I'll post the reason.
    Andrew

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I still have NO idea of the cause of this but here's weirder.
    Created new spreadsheet.
    Imported Main Data sheets into it.
    Imported all Modules and User forms into it.
    Ran and tested, Worked just fine.
    ONLY 2 sheets to go neither have any code.
    First is data for chart.
    Imported ok and everything fine.

    Last one is a sheet with just a chart object on it referencing the charts data sheet.
    Nothing Flashy about this.

    BUT now the problem comes back.
    So delete the sheet with chart object on it,
    and.......Problem permanent.

    OOOHHH! But why?
    No idea.
    So now using it without the last sheet, and everything just fine.
    Anyone got any ideas as to cause?
    Andrew

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    Not offhand, though it does sound a lot like a corrupted file to me. Which version of Excel? Did you run Code Cleaner on your file?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Excel 2003 with all SP's installed.
    Didn't run code cleaner.
    But have left the chart off the new import file and everything is fine.
    Will put the chart back when I have finished the mods.
    Will probably run code cleaner as well.
    Very weird behaviour though.
    Lot's of backups being made!
    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •