Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Somewhere along the line yesterday I tried to get a file from the NAS and was told it was not accessible. I tried a reboot.

    I looked in the Event Log but don't see any message.

    Of course not every PC will access a server on boot up so maybe it doesn't think that's unusual.

    Does anyone have any ideas about starting that service - apparently some related services cannot start and are preventing the Workstation service starting.

    I do have an Acronis backup but I'd like to keep my current setup ( a few changes made this week).

    A Restore point is not available.

    Thanks

    Bryan

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Hi Bryan,

    Visit Blackviper for full Services for Windows 7 info, Workstation specifics.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Wetton View Post
    Does anyone have any ideas about starting that service - apparently some related services cannot start and are preventing the Workstation service starting.
    Here's the dependencies for the Workstation service on my Win7 system. You should check them out. [attachment=88123:Capture.PNG]

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe,

    As an example of checking them out , where would I find the SMB redirectors and The Browser Driver?

    I see the NSIS service is started

    Bryan.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For completeness I am reporting that an in-place install ( reinstall) of Win 7 has brought the Networking back.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Glad you got it worked out. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •