Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    I'm having problems with "Access Denied" all over the place when I try to put a link to a program in a Terminal Server user's Start Menu on Windows Server 2008.

    What's the best way, please?

    Thanks
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,633
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
    What kind of link are you doing - a hyperlink to a web page? Server 2008 restricts IE to local sites by default.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    What kind of link are you doing - a hyperlink to a web page? Server 2008 restricts IE to local sites by default.
    No, I'm simply trying to set up a program to run at startup-time, and don't want to put in in HKCU...Run.

    In XP I would have put the link into C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Start Menu\Programs\Startup, but that is now hidden from me (yes, even with the usual "Show Hidden Files" folder option enabled)..

    I suspect I will have to look into Reparse Points, because that seems to have some bearing on where Microsoft have chosen to hide things this time round...
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,633
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
    Sometimes I read too fast - I saw link, but not "to a program" - sorry. The one server where that is done is using a login script to run programs. But I do have access to the Startup menu - it's now under C:\Users rather than under C:\Documents and Settings.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    Thanks, Wendell - intensive and extensive web research has enabled me to track down the target of those junction points!

    I am now trying to get a Task-Scheduled program to run at logon time without getting the infuriating "Some startup programs have been blocked". And Microsoft wants you to leave UAC turned on...
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    In case anyone is interested, I've attached a snappily-titled Word document with the list of locations...
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •