Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    I have an Access Database in .mdb format that works just fine Access 2003.
    However, when I open it it in Access 2007 the initial code to relink the backend
    works just fine and pops up the notification msgbox to let the user know but when
    the msgbox clears the Switchboard buttons, that display sub menus, will not work!
    The Switchboard button to close the database works just fine though!!

    Another oddity to this is if I close the Switchboard and then reopen it from the
    Navigation bar everything works as it should.

    Security setup: (Trust Center)
    Trusted Locations:
    Contains the directories containing both the front & back end .mdb files
    The VBA was digitally signed in Office 2003 using the Self-Cert certificate created
    by the Office 2003 Certification Tool.
    Macro Settings:
    Disable all macros with notification -- I get no notifications!

    Any ideas?

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    By chance do you have the switchboard table in the back-end rather than the front-end. I've occasionally seen weird things with the Switchboard if you try to put the table it uses in the back-end. I quit using the Switchboard manager for any but the simplest database, as we have a much more sophisticated approach, but I've tinkered with a few small databases that use it in 2007 and not seen any issues. However the way the switchboard manager works has changed in 2007, as it uses embedded macros rather than VBA - see Third Of Five - just another voice ... for some background on that.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    By chance do you have the switchboard table in the back-end rather than the front-end.
    No, the Switchboard is in the Front End and works fine if closed and reopened
    from the Navigation Bar. It just won't work when opened at startup.

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    How does the switchboard fire up, via an autoexec macro or the startup options?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patt View Post
    How does the switchboard fire up, via an autoexec macro or the startup options?
    It's started by Startup Options.

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Have you tried enabling macros to see if that works? If the switchboard was designed in Access 2003 or earlier, it shouldn't require macros, but it certainly appears that something is mucking with the switchboard funtions.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    Have you tried enabling macros to see if that works?
    Macros are enabled, per original post, the auto_open macro to relink the tables in the backend db
    executes properly as does the macro, fired from the switchboard, to exit the db & close Access.
    The only switchboard selections that don't work are the ones that call second level switchboard
    screens.

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Any chancce of sending a stripped down db?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Macros are enabled, per original post, ... The only switchboard selections that don't work are the ones that call second level switchboard
    screens.
    Sorry - I misinterpreted your setting where you said:
    ... Macro Settings:
    Disable all macros with notification -- I get no notifications!
    Have you done any editing of the switchboard settings using Access 2007? It appears to be behaving as though it is a 2007 switchboard rather than a 2003 switchboard. And I think Pat's suggest of uploading a "sanitized version" of the database would help us debug what is going on. I don't find any similar issues being discussed in a web search.
    Wendell

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Ok guys,

    This gets more and more interesting...
    I was constructing a sanatized version (per your requests), this DB is for our homeowners assoc. so it contains a lot of personal information I couldn't upload, of the files 1 Front End & 2 Back End DB's when a funny thing happened. The menus started working when I fired up the Front end.

    What I had done before stripping the data from the back ends was to comment out some lines of code in the front end that relinked the to the back end tables. This code checked the userid that was logged on and adjusted the paths accordingly. I use this code because the paths are different on my machine than the one on the Association PC.

    In the process of editing the code it stripped the Digital Signature from the VBA code.

    Old front end with Digital signature in tact - doesn't work on initial entry to DB - but does work if switchboard is closed and reopened from the navigation bar (2007).

    New front end w/o Digital signature works on load as it should.

    So it has something to do with the digital signature of the code?
    I'll do some more experimenting because I can't remember if I generated the digital signature in Office 2003 or 2007. I'm using a dual boot machine with XP SP-3 & Office 2003 on one side and Win 7 with Office 2007 on the other. However, they both use the same data directory which is stored on the G: partition. I'll try generating signatures on both sides and see if the behavior is the same.

    I'll report back on my findings when I get a chance. It may be a while as we are currently in TX in our motor home and have to leave early tomorrow due to a family emergency. It's going to be a mad rush back to South Carolina.

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    This is what I have found so far:

    THe following was done on my Laptop with Win 7 - Office 2007 & Win Xp - Office 2003 Pro

    Created a new Digital Signature in Office 2007 on Win 7.
    Installed certificate.
    Selected Trust All from this Publisher.
    Signed all three databases.
    Office 2007 - Win 7 : Problem with Switchboard on file open occures.
    Office 2003 - Win XP SP-3:

    Remove Digital Signature from file
    Office 2007 - Win 7 : Switchboard works on file open as it should.
    Office 2003 - Win XP SP-3: Switchboard works on file open as it should.

    Signed with Existing Digital Signature in Win XP SP-3 Office 2003:
    Office 2003 - Win XP SP-3: Switchboard works on file open as it should.
    Office 2007 - Win 7 : Problem with Switchboard on file open occures.

    This was done on my desktop computer which is dual boot Win 7 & Win XP and has Office 2003 Pro installed on both sides.

    In total frustration I downloaded the Win 7 SDK and used the MakeCert program to create a new certificate.

    Once again the certificate performs as expected on Win XP side.

    However on the Win 7 side it is ignored and I get the security prompt if Macro Security is set to Medium. However, in this case everything works as programmed.

    The VBA is disabled (see message below) if Macro Security is set to High. Which of course completely disables the Access file, the Swicthboard is not even displayed. Don't believe the message as if I go into the VBE it shows that the code is signed!

    Needless to say...something has been broken in Win 7 and possibly Office 2007 also. I'm open to any suggestions ya'll may have.

    RG
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •