Lounger
    Thanks
    I really had high hopes for Win7. It almost succeeded. There is one huge defect. It is Backup/Restore. I do it religiously but have absolutely zero faith that when the day comes, that it will be anything but useless.
    I have been programming computers since 1968. I have known IBM mainframes of all sizes. Apple][s, Lisas, Macs, PCs of many generations, PDP equipment, Raytheon equipment, CPM machines.
    Simple things trouble me. Like when a backup fails, does the backup system know that that backup doesn't count because it is useless? If backup is performing an incremental backup, if the last backup fails, does the next backup think the bad backup was OK and not backup the changes since the last good backup?
    Since these backups were made on a Release Candidate, can I really restore my files to my version of XP-Pro as the warning message implies, or does that really mean Vista or Win7? If my backups were made under 64 bit, will they install on a 32 bit version of Win7? How can that be? the program files are 64 bit versions, how can they work on a 32 bit version of Win7? I bet I will have to scare up compatible 32 bit versions or stay with 64 bit!
    I have a USB hard drive which has FAT32, NTFS(XP? or Fedora?) (fedora pretends that it can read and write to the partition using SAMBA) and 32 bit fedora 11 upgraded to fedora 12. I can boot from this drive and cross boot Win7 from it. But if I do that, Win7 backup reliably fails even when I tell Win7 backup nothing about this drive. I have to unplug the drive, change the boot configuration or re-boot windows at least 3 times before backup will work correctly. The messages mention something about not being able to find files...