Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We have a network with Windows 2003 servers and various PCs ( XP, Vista and now Windows7.) Most of our printers a are networked on one of the Windows 2003 servers. They have worked successfully with XP and Vista for a long time. Since introducing Windows 7 PCs we have been seeing intermittent printer problems. The printers will work fine for days but then suddenly when you start up one day the printer will not work. It is not just one printer but all printers which have stopped working. You sent the print to the printer in the normal way but the pop up message never appears. If you go into look at the printer queue the print appears for a short while then disappears. Initially we tried deleting the printer and re adding but that returned a message of "Cannot connect to the printer" , usually a reboot fixes the problem but not always. We have now discovered that provided the printer queue is empty stopping and restarting the Print Spooler service on the Windows7 PC cures the problem.
    It is as if the Print Spooler is not starting correctly at Start up. We have looked on the web but not found other people with the same problem. Has anyone else experienced similar? Anyone know how to fix it?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Henry Hi and welcome

    You wouldnt by chance be running IPv6, are you? on some systems IPv6 causes some odd problems, like spool or connectivity.IPv4 seems to work better there.


    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ken,

    No we specifically stop ipv6 working. We only use ip v4.

    Henry

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Henry,

    When you checked the Services in Administrative Tools, did the Print Spooler service show Automatic as start up type? If it is set to manual , it does not guarantee that it will start when a demand is placed on it. It should, but it does not always work correctly. I have seen this happen to other services before.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Gerald,

    Yes it shows as Automatic. It also shows as started even when not working.

    Henry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •