Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows 7 32 bit All updates applied.

    All of a sudden, I cannot create a restore point. I get an error message --> Access denied (0x80070005) Does anyone know how to fix this? It used to work.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Joey,

    Do you by any chance use a Norton 2010 product?

    The reason I ask is due to a known issue you can see here .

    If you do not have Norton, then you can try shutting down system restore and then start it back up. Some have had success with this, but not all. Go to System and click on System Protection; on the System Properties page click the System Protection tab and click Configure. Select Turn off system protection and reboot the computer. After booting back up, go back to the Configure button and turn on system protection and try to create a restore point. For more details go to Help and Support ,and type in Turn off system restore .

    Bear in mind that turning off system protection will delete all your existing restore points.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Gerald,

    Nope. I'm using AVG, which is what I've been using since I installed Windows 7. My problem began recently. I read that some people had troubles after Microsoft's last Patch Tuesday. I've had no such trouble, unless this problem was caused by the patch.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just performed a Windows Update. It always creates a restore point. It did this time also. It has the ability to do so when I can't manually do so, nor can Revo Uninstaller do it programatically. Is there some kind of "permissions" issue here?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I guess this thread can die without a solution. My problem is fixed, but not in a good way. I had an unrelated problem that I tried to fix by using a restore point that Windows upgrade had created. It refused to restore using the same error code. In my frustration, I decided to re-install Windows on top of itself. Problem solved.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just solved this same problem by running System Restore from safe mode.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •